Christopher Kolade to Head Subsidy Reinvestment Board

Channels Television  
Updated January 3, 2012
Christopher Kolade

President Goodluck Jonathan has set up a committee headed by a former Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Alfa Belgore to meet with Organized Labour and all other stakeholders with a view to resolving issues that may arise from the removal of the subsidy on petrol.

Members of the committee are to meet with organized labour, civil society groups and other stakeholders include the Chairman of the Governors’ Forum, Governor Rotimi Amaechi of rivers state, Governor Babangida Aliyu of Niger state, Governor Peter Obi of Anambra state, Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo state and Governor Sule Lamido of Jigawa state.

In a similar development the president appointed Dr. Christopher Kolade as the Chairman of the subsidy reinvestment and empowerment programme board which is to oversee and ensure the effective and timely implementation of projects to be funded with the savings accruing to the Federal Government from subsidy removal, Major-General Mamman Kontagora (Rtd.) is to serve as Deputy Chairman of the board.

The subsidy reinvestment and empowerment programme board will also include two representatives of the National Assembly, two representatives of Organized Labour, one representative of the National Union of Road Transport workers (NURTW), one representative of the Nigerian Union of Journalists, one representative of Nigerian Women Groups, one representative of Nigerian Youth, one representative of Civil Society Organizations, the Coordinating Minister of the Economy/Minister of Finance, the Minister of National Planning, the Minister of Petroleum Resources, the Minister of State for Health, the Special Adviser to the President on Technical Matters, and six other reputable individuals from the six geo-political zones in the country, three of whom will be women.

The mandate of the board is to oversee the fund in the petroleum subsidy savings account, and the programme specifically to improve the quality of life of Nigerians in line with the transformation agenda of the President.

The committee which is expected to begin its work immediately also includes the Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Mrs. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, the Minister of Petroleum Resources, Mrs. Diezani Allison-Madueke, the Minister of Labour and Productivity, Chief Emeka Wogu, the Special Adviser to the President on Inter Party Affairs, Senator Ben Obi and Mrs. Ngozi Olajemi.