PDP’s Aliyu Wamakko wins Sokoto guber poll

Channels Television  
Updated February 19, 2012


Aliyu Wamakko is back in the office.

The candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko has been declared the winner of the Sokoto governorship election.

The Returning officer, Professor Abdulai Zuru declared Mr Wamakko as the winner of the February 18 election having won 518, 247 votes while the All Nigerian People’s Party (ANPP)’s candidate, Alhaji Yisha’u Ahmed came second with 131, 048 votes. The New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP)’s candidate, Ashimu Abubakar came third with 7,172 votes.

Earlier in the day, the ANPP’s candidate rejected the result of the election, hours before it was released. Alhaji Ahmed alleged that the electoral body and the officers of Nigerian Police Force were aiding the rigging of the election.

“The Police prevented some of our (ANPP) agents from monitoring the election in some local government areas on the outskirt of the state while others were made to sign result sheets under duress at Gwadabawa local government area” he said.

Mr Wamakko was elected governor of Sokoto state in 2007, on the platform of the PDP but was removed from office in April 2008 by the Appeal court for an election tribunal on the basis that he was still a member of the ANPP when he won the PDP’s nomination. The court ordered a re-run election and Mr Wamakko, again emerged victorious and regained the governor’s seat in the May 2008 re-run election.

However, Mr. Wamakko was among the five governors sacked by the Supreme Court in a landmark ruling last month which ruled that the governors were not entitled to stay in office beyond the four term limit after their initial election in 2007.

Wamakko, trained as a teacher began his sojourn into politics 1999 when he was elected Deputy Governor of Sokoto State to Governor Attahiru Bafarawa, on the platform of ANPP. He was re-elected Deputy Governor for a second term in April 2003. He resigned as Deputy Governor of Sokoto State in 2006 to join the PDP.

President Goodluck Jonathan has immediately congratulated Mr. Wamakko on his election.