Edo state: The heartbeat of the Nation

Channels Television  
Updated March 26, 2012

Former Bendel state in the Mid-western Region was a division of Nigeria from 1963- 1991.

It was later formed in June 1963- 1991 from Benin and Delta provinces of the Western Region and its capital was Benin City.

During the Nigerian civil war; the Biafra forces invaded the Mid-western State and were declared as the Republic of Benin as soldiers were to take over the region.

In 1976 it lost Ughelli to Rivers State while Edo state was formed August 27 1991.

Bendel State was divided into two Edo State and Delta State.