Curfew imposed on four local government areas of Plateau state

Channels Television  
Updated July 8, 2012

The Plateau state government has placed four local government areas in the state under curfew. They include Jos North, Jos South, Barkin Ladi and Riyom.

A statement from the office of the Plateau state information and communication commissioner, Abraham Yiljap read “Governor Jonah Jang has approved the immediate curfew to commence from 7:30 Sunday evening to 7AM Monday morning while the curfew commences from six in the evening of Monday till further notice”.

This is coming at the heels of the security situation that resulted in the killing of a serving senator, Gyang Dantong Dalyop and the Chief Whip of the Plateau State House of Assembly, Hon. Gyang James Fulani, early on Sunday.