PDP Scores 263,024 Votes To Win Delta Central Senatorial Bye-Election

Channels Television  
Updated October 13, 2013

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate for the Delta Central Senatorial bye-election, Emmanuel Aguariavwodo, has been declared winner of the election.

According to the INEC returning officer, Professor Arubayi Blacky John, the PDP polled 263,024 votes while APC came second with 29,075 followed by the DPP with 29,055 votes.

The Labour Party scored1602 votes while the ACD scored 452 votes while APGA had 326 votes.

Meanwhile the APC has accused the PDP of using security agents to intimidate voters.

The opposition alleged that the PDP prevented voting materials from reaching polling units in opposition strongholds during the election yesterday.

A statement issued by the APC interim National Publicity Secretary, said reports from its agents on the field indicated that armed soldiers and policemen were deployed strategically to intimidate voters, while trailers and tankers were used to block the roads leading to the opposition strongholds, thereby preventing voting materials from reaching there.

According to the APC, the worst-hit areas were Ughelli-North; Udu and Uvwie Local Governments.The opposition party adds that several Hilux vehicles loaded with armed soldiers were sent to Okpe local government ward 8 collation centre since Friday night.

Earlier on yesterday, party agents had complained about logistic problems bedeviling the exercise.

The bye elections took place in eight local government areas of Delta state.

The poll became necessary after the death of Senator Pius Ewherido on June 30, 2013.  The Late Senator Ewherido won the seat in 2011 on the platform of the Democratic People Party, DPP, which fielded Ede Dafinone as its candidate in yesterday’s poll.