FIFA Reveals 23-Man Shortlist For Ballon d’Or Award

Channels Television  
Updated October 29, 2013

FIFA have revealed the 23-man shortlist for the 2013 Ballon d’Or.

Four time winner, Lionel Messi, Bayern Munich star Franck Ribery and Real Madrid Attacker Cristiano Ronaldo are among the favourites to win the prestigious award which will be held on January the 13th 2014 in Zurich.

Other nominees include Andres Iniesta, Xavi, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and the most expensive player in the world Gareth Bale.

Unfortunately for the African continent, Ivorian international Yaya Toure is the only African player in the 23-man list of nominees for the 2013 FIFA Ballon d’Or award.

The Manchester City midfielder will jostle for the most prestigious player’s award with Barcelona star and current holder Lionel Messi, 2008 winner Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid and UEFA best player, Franck Ribery.

The 23-man list will be reduced to three in December before the winners will be announced.

The final decisions will be made by the captains and head coaches of the men’s national teams as well as international media representatives selected by France football.

For the coach of the year award, Jose Mourinho, Sir Alex Ferguson and Jupp Heynckes are among the 10 candidates shortlisted for the award.

Heynckes, who guided Bayern Munich to a historic treble in 2012/2013, stepped down at the end of the season.

Ferguson won the premier league title with Manchester United last term before retiring from the game.

New Chelsea manager, José Mourinho however made the list despite winning only the super cup last year with Real Madrid.

Other nominated coaches include Arsenal manager, Arsene Wenger, Spain Coach Vicente Del Bosque, Dortmund Coach Jurgen Klopp and Real Madrid’s Carlo Ancelotti.

More on Sports