Buhari Submits Service Chiefs’ Names To Senate For Confirmation

Channels Television  
Updated July 28, 2015
service chiefs
L-R: The CDS, Maj Gen AG Olonisakin, COAS, Maj Gen Gen TY Buratai, CNS, R Adm IE Ibas and CAS, AVM SB Abubakar

President Muhammadu Buhari has written to the Senate, requesting the upper chamber to screen and confirm the service chiefs.

The Senate President, Bukola Saraki, at plenary, read the letter from President Buhari, naming the service chiefs to be screened and confirmed.

They are:

Major-General Abayomi Olonishakin – Chief Of Defence Staff

General T.Y. Buratai – Chief Of Army Staff

Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas – Chief Of Naval Staff

Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar – Chief Of Air Staff

The Senate has not fixed a date for the screening of the service chiefs.