Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, Others Elected To UN Security Council

Channels Television  
Updated June 2, 2017

Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, Others Elected To UN Security CouncilThe 193-member United Nations General Assembly has elected Ivory Coast and Equatorial Guinea to the U.N. Security Council.

The African countries were elected on Friday alongside Kuwait, Peru and Poland for a two-year term starting January 1, 2018.

While all the countries were running unopposed, they still needed more than two-thirds of the overall vote to win a seat.

Ivory Coast received 189 votes, Equatorial Guinea got 185, Kuwait received 188, Peru won 186, Poland got 190, and the Netherlands received 184 votes.

The Council is made up of 10 elected members, five voted on each year and five permanent veto-powers: the United States, Britain, France, China and Russia.

The Council is the only U.N. body that can make legally-binding decisions and has the power to impose sanctions and authorise the use of force.

To ensure geographical representation on the Council, there are five seats apportioned for African and Asian states; one for Eastern European states; two for the Latin American and Caribbean states, as well as two for Western European and other states.