South-East, South-South Governors Back Nigeria’s Unity

Channels Television  
Updated August 28, 2017

South-East, South-South Governors Back Nigeria's Unity

Governors of the South-East and South-South geo-political zones have declared their support for Nigeria’s unity.

This follows a meeting of the governors which held late on Sunday evening at the Rivers State Government House in Port Harcourt, the state capital.

The governors condemned the use of hate speeches in the country and called on all Nigerians to ensure the nation remains united.

“Nigeria is a country that we all love, that we all have a passion for and we will do everything to maintain the unity and oneness in this country,” the Chairman of the forum and governor of Akwa Ibom State, Udom Emmanuel, told reporters after the meeting.

Governor Emmanuel, however, said that the Federal Government has a negligible presence in the two regions, except in the area of policing.

“There is the reality of the dearth of infrastructure in this our region, especially federal roads in the two regions. Indeed, federal presence in the regions is very minimal and only noticeable in the presence of policemen,” he said.

On his part, Governor Nyesome Wike of Rivers State joined the call for Nigeria’s restructuring and devolution of power to states.

He said, “Above all, we must continue to demand the devolution of power and resources to the states, as well as the institutionalisation of the state police.”

The meeting, the second of its kind, was convened to deliberate on critical economic and political issues common to the interests of the states in Nigeria’s affairs.

It had in attendance seven governors and four deputy governors.

Other governors present at the meeting include Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State, Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State, Rochas Okorocha of Imo State and Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State.

Deputy governors who represented their governors were Retired Rear Admiral Gboribiogha John Jonah who is the acting governor of Bayelsa; Dr. Nkem Okeke of Anambra, Mr Philip Shaibu of Edo State and Professor Ivara Esu of Cross River State.