LIVE: FG Honours M.K.O Abiola, Fawehinmi, Other Heroes Of June 12

Channels Television  
Updated June 12, 2018

Twenty-five years after the historic June 12, 1993 elections, the Nigerian government is honouring the presumed winner of the presidential election, Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola, and other heroes of the country’s democracy.

Key players of June 12 struggle were invited by the President to witness the conferment of the titles on the democracy heroes.

Among the top key players invited by President Buhari include human-activist Wole Soyinka and Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Femi Falana.

Also, all governors elected under Social Democratic Party of Nigeria (SDP) platform are invited to the investiture scheduled to take place on June 12, 2018, at the State House, Aso Rock Villa, Abuja.


A file photo of Late MKO Abiola

The family of M.K.O. Abiola and that of Chief Gani Fawehinmi, alongside and Ambassador Babagana Kingibe were present at the event.

Among those invited were the national leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu and former APC national Chairman, Bisi Akande were also invited.

Also on the guest list are Members of the National Executive Committee of the SDP including States Chairmen and Secretaries at the time of June 12, 1993, Former Senate Presidents – Iyorchia Ayu and Ameh Ebute and Speaker Agunwa Anekwe along with Principal Officers of the National Assembly elected under SDP platform, Speakers of the States Assembly elected under SDP platform, and All Chairmen of the States Traditional Councils from the six South-Western States.

Some journalists who played a key role in the June 12 struggle were also invited –  Bayo Onanuga, Kunle Ajibade, Nosa Igiebor, Kayode Komolafe and Senator Jonathan Zwingina.

Others are Comrade Frank Ovie Kokori, Ms. Ayo Obe and Professor Humphrey Nwosu.

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, Speaker Yakubu Dogora, Principal Officers of the National Assembly, Members of the Federal Executive Council and all State Governors will also be at the event.