LIVE UPDATES: APC National Convention Continues Into Second Day

  The National Convention of the All Progressives Congress is in its second day with results expected to be announced later this morning. Advertisement On … Continue reading LIVE UPDATES: APC National Convention Continues Into Second Day

National leader of the APC, Bola Tinubu; former interim National Chairman of the APC, Bisi Akande; Speaker of House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara; Senate President, Bukola Saraki; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; President Muhammadu Buhari; Outgoing APC National Chairman, John Odigie-Oyegun, and other members of the party at the Eagles Square on the second day of the party’s National Convention.


The National Convention of the All Progressives Congress is in its second day with results expected to be announced later this morning.

On Saturday, a former governor of Edo State, Adams Oshiomhole, was affirmed as the National Chairman of the party.

Mr Oshiomhole was one of about 26 contestants at the convention that were unopposed and affirmed by delegates before voting commenced for the remaining positions.

Despite heavy security and the presence of President Muhammadu Buhari and top government officials and the leaders and key members of the APC, the convention was not without challenges.

READ ALSO: Delegates Clash At APC National Convention

First, it was delayed by an early morning rain and later the event was threatened by clashes between some delegates

Catch up on the issues at stake at the convention and our live updates on Saturday’s activities by following the link below.

LIVE UPDATES: APC National Convention – Ruling Party Elects New Leaders

9: 06 am: The counting of votes is almost completed after which the final result would be announced.

9:29 am: There have been some challenges getting delegates to settle down and security operatives have been called on a number of times to ensure delegates remain in their allotted sections. Having been at the venue for more than 24 hours, some of them have insisted that they needed to move around.

10: 45 am: President Muhammadu Buhari and the outgoing National Chairman of the APC, Mr John Odigie-Oyegun, are have both arrived at the convention venue.

10:49 am: Only the results for one location is left to be counted and collated. It is expected that the final results would be announced within an hour.

11:00 am: Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President Bukola Saraki, and Speaker of the House of Representatives Yakubu Dogara, are also back at the convention for its conclusion.

11:09 am: It is another rainy day in Abuja and at the Eagles Square where the convention is being held, delegates have had to deal with light rain.

Meanwhile, here are some of the top stories from yesterday:

13:08 pm: President Buhari has left the venue of the convention. He is expected back within two hours for the announcement of the results.

Kebbi State Governor Atiku Bagudu speaks with officials of his government

4:26 pm: President Buhari is back at the Eagles Square for the announcement of results.

4:40 pm: Announcement of results underway.

Governor Badaru is announcing the results now.

Here are some of the winners:

Youth Leader – South-West
Winner: Lawal Olarewaju

Zonal youth leader – South-South
Winner: Gabriel Idi Siri

Organizing Secretary – South-South
Winner: Adefadelire Asu


Organising Secretary – South-West
Winner: Femi Egbedeyi

Secretary – South-East
Winner: John Owede

Women Leader North-West
Winner: Yamisu Buba

Ex-Official – South-South
Winner: Nduka Anyawu

Meanwhile, Bolaji Abdullahi has been returned as the APC’s National Publicity Secretary. Mr Abdullahi outpolled Abubakar Sidiq Usman to retain his position.

5:38 pm: With the results announced, the elected officials are now being sworn in.