Governors’ Forum To Meet With Service Chiefs Over Killings

Channels Television  
Updated June 28, 2018


The Nigeria Governors’ Forum is planning to meet with the service chiefs over the spate of killings in some parts of the country.

Chairman of the forum and Zamfara State Governor, Abdul’Aziz Yari, disclosed this to reporters on Thursday after the governors met behind closed-door in Abuja.

READ ALSO: ‘The Nation Is Dying’: Soyinka Asks Buhari To Take Immediate Action Against Murderous Herdsmen

According to him, the meeting with the security chiefs is to come up with the holistic solution to the security challenges in the country.

NGF Condemns Plateau Killings, Seeks ‘Holistic Solution’ To Insecurity
Chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum, Governor Abdul’Aziz Yari (Zamfara State), addressing a press conference in Abuja on June 28, 2018.


The governor said, “The forum strongly condemns the recent attack in Plateau State and the spate of the insecurity in the country. Members commiserate with the government and people of Plateau State and other states, including the victims who were caught in the conflicts.

“The governors have unanimously called for the prosecution of perpetrators of the attack and resolve to find a quick and common solution to the security crisis in the country. The forum resolves to pay a condolence visit to Plateau state to commensurate with the government and people of Plateau State,” he added.

‘We Cannot Continue To Tolerate Killings’ – Saraki, Dogara Call For Collective Effort

Governor Yari informed reporters that the issues of minimum wage and stamp duty also formed part of the discussed at the meeting.

While the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) is proposing a minimum wage of N65,000 for workers, the governors have insisted on the staggering of the implementation of the new wage if approved.

Governors at the meeting include Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos), Mohammed Abubakar (Jigawa), Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta), and Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia).

Others are Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), Rauf Aregbesola (Osun), Abubakar Bagudu (Kebbi), Mohammed Abubakar (Bauchi), among other governors.