INEC Announces Ekiti Governorship Election Results [Full List]

Channels Television  
Updated July 15, 2018

INEC Announces Ekiti Governorship Election Results [Full List]


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the results of the just concluded governorship election in Ekiti State.

INEC’s Chief Returning Officer for the poll, Professor Idowu Olayinka, declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Dr Kayode Fayemi, as the winner of the election.

READ ALSO: INEC Declares Kayode Fayemi Winner Of Ekiti Governorship Election

Announcing the results on Sunday in Ado-Ekiti, Professor Olayinka said the former minister was returned elected having satisfied the requirements of the law and scoring the highest number of votes.

Fayemi defeated the Deputy Governor of the state and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Professor Kolapo Olusola, and over 30 others in a keenly contested election.

He was victorious in 11 out of the 16 local government areas of the state, polling 197,459 votes to beat his closest rival Olusola who got 178,121 votes.

See the full list of candidates who took part in the election as announced by the INEC Chief Returning Officer.


Abiodun AlukoAccord Party (A)250
Shola OmololaAction Alliance (AA)41
Owolabi OlowoporokuAdvanced Congress of Democrats (ACD)1,149
Agboola OlaniyiAlliance for Democracy (AD)216
Segun AdewaleAction Democratic Party (ADP)1,082
Lucas OrubuloyeAll Grassroots Alliance (AGA)107
Stephen OribamiseAll Grand Alliance Party (AGAP)31
Tunde AfeAbundant Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP)125
Saheed JimohAfrican Peoples Alliance (APA)1,199
Kayode FayemiAll Progressives Congress (APC)197,459 (elected)
Tope AdebayoAdvanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA)464
Ayodeji AyodeleAll Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)70
Adegboye AjayiBetter Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP)14
David AdesuaDemocratic Alternative (DA)14
Olalekan OlanrewajuDemocratic Peoples Congress (DPC)147
Oluyinka AkereleDemocratic Peoples Party (DPP)181
Sule GaniyuFreedom and Justice Movement (FJP)42
Adewale OlusolaGreen Party of Nigeria (GPN)20
Tosin AjibareIndependent Democrats (ID)212
Temitope AmudaKOWA Party (KP)23
Sikiru LawalLabour Party (LP)280
Olabode JegedeMass Movement of Nigeria (MMN)35
Adebisi OmoyeniMega Party of Nigeria (MPN)231
Babatunde AlegbeleyeNational Democratic Liberty Party (NDLP)84
Oladosu OlaniyanNorthern People’s Congress (NPC)353
Dada AyoyinkaPeople For Democratic Change (PDC)1,242
Kolapo OlusolaPeoples Democratic Party (PDP)178,121
Goke AnimashaunProgressive Peoples Alliance (PPA)632
Dare BejidePeoples Party of Nigeria (PPN)187
Akinloye AiyegbusiSocial Democratic Party (SDP)367
Olusegun AdeleyeUnited Democratic Party (UDP)29
Jacob GboyegaUnity Party of Nigeria (UPN)33
Fakorede AyodejiYoung Democratic Party (YDP)31
Omotayo GabrielYoung Progressives Party (YPP)49
Total number of registered voters909, 585
Total number of accredited voters405, 861
Total valid votes384,594
Rejected votes18,857
Total votes cast403,451