Ademola Adeleke Wins Osun PDP Governorship Primary

Channels Television  
Updated July 21, 2018
BREAKING: Ademola Adeleke Wins Osun PDP Governorship Primary
(File) Senator Ademola Adeleke// [email protected]


The lawmaker representing Osun West district in the National Assembly, Senator Ademola Adeleke, has won the governorship primary election of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state.

The Chairman of the Election Committee and Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson, declared the lawmaker the winner on Saturday after he defeated three other aspirants in the exercise held in Osogbo, the state capital.

PHOTOS: PDP Holds Governorship Primary In Osun

Senator Adeleke polled a total of 1,569 votes to beat his closest rival Dr Akin Ogunbiyi who scored 1,562 votes.

When the votes were counted, Adeleke had 1,569 while Ogunbiyi had 1,559 but his agents called for a recount after which Ogunbiyi’s votes were confirmed to be 1,562.

The delegates also demanded another recount of Adeleke’s votes, a request which Governor Dickson declined as he proceeded to announce the results.

Having won the PDP ticket, Senator Adeleke would contend with Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as well as candidates of other political parties in the September 22 governorship election.

About 3,000 delegates from various wards across the local government areas of the state participated in the exercise.

11 aspirants had indicated interest to represent the party in September, but seven of the candidates later pulled out.

They include a former Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Adejare Bello, Professor Adeolu Durotoye, Jide Adeniji, Senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi, Ayoade Adewopo, Lere Oyewumi and Felix Ogunwale.

The aspirants said they resolved to withdraw to ensure stronger bond within the party, and because of the appeals from PDP leaders.

Senator Adeleke consequently beat Dr Akin Ogunbiyi, as well as Fatai Akinbade and Nathaniel Oke to emerge the winner of the primary.