Osun Election: Senator Adeleke, Three Others Battle For PDP Ticket


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is holding its governorship primary election in Osun State.

The exercise, which takes place in Osogbo, the state capital, will produce the party’s candidate for the September 22 governorship election in the state.

Eleven aspirants had indicated their interest to participate in the primary but seven candidates later pulled out.

PHOTOS: PDP Holds Governorship Primary In Osun

Those who stepped down include a former Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Adejare Bello, Professor Adeolu Durotoye, Jide Adeniji, Senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi, Ayoade Adewopo, Lere Oyewumi and Felix Ogunwale.

They revealed that they had decided to withdraw to strengthen the bond within the party and because of the appeals from PDP leaders.

Aspirants left in the race are Senator Ademola Adeleke, Fatai Akinbade, Dr Akin Ogunbiyi, and Nathaniel Oke.

Meanwhile, the Chairman of the PDP Primary Committee and Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson, has assured delegates at the exercise of a free, fair and credible process.

Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson (middle)

He also appealed to aspirants left in the primary and those who have withdrawn from the race to support whoever emerged as the party’s flagbearer.

Personnel of the Nigeria Police and that of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC) are on the ground to prevent any breakdown of law and order.

About 3,000 delegates from various wards across the local government areas of the state are gathered in the state capital for the exercise.

The winner of the primary would contend with Gboyega Oyetola who won the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election conducted on Friday, as well as candidates of other political parties in the September poll.

oluchi :
Disqus Comments Loading...