APC Wins Senatorial Election In Katsina

Channels Television  
Updated August 12, 2018

Ekiti APC Governorship Primaries: Aspirants Insist Poll Must Be Credible


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Ahmed Kaita, as the winner of the Katsina Senatorial Bye-election.

INEC Returning Officer, Professor Hudu Abdullahi, declared the candidate of the ruling party as the winner of the election which was held on Saturday.

He said APC’s Kaita got 224, 607 votes to defeat five other candidates in the poll.

Kaita, who is a member of the House of Representatives, representing Kankia/Kusada/Ingawa Federal Constituency, defeated his elder brother, Kabir Usman Babba Kaita of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) who scored 59, 724 votes.

The Senatorial seat became vacant in April following the death of Senator Mustapha Bukar.