UPDATED: INEC Registers 23 New Political Parties

Channels Television  
Updated August 14, 2018

INEC, Electoral Malpractices


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has registered 23 new political parties bringing the total number of parties to 91.

Some of the parties include: The Advanced Alliance Party, Liberation Movement, Save Nigeria Congress, United Patriots, Youth Party, We The People Nigeria, among others.

See the full list below.

1Advanced Alliance PartyAAP
2Advanced Nigeria Democratic PartyANDP
3African Action CongressAAC
4Alliance for a United NigeriaAUN
5Alliance of Social DemocratsASD
6Alliance National PartyANP
7Allied People’s MovementAPM
8Change Nigeria PartyCNP
9Congress Of PatriotsCOP
10Liberation MovementLM
11Movement for Restoration and Defence of DemocracyMRDD
12Nigeria Community Movement PartyNCMP
13Nigeria for DemocracyNFD
14Peoples Coalition PartyPCP
15Reform and Advancement PartyRAP
16Save Nigeria CongressSNC
17United PatriotsUP
18United Peoples Congress UPCUPC
19We The People NigeriaWTPN
20YES Electorates SolidarityYES
21Youth PartyYP
22Zenith Labour PartyZLP
23Alternative Party of NigeriaAPN


According to INEC, the newly registered political parties will receive their Certificates of Registration from the Commission on August 16, 2018, at its headquarters.

Meanwhile, the deadline for the Continuous Voter Registration was extended by two weeks.

According to INEC the deadline for registration was initially fixed for August 17  in order to have enough time to make all necessary preparations before 2019 but after several appeals by Nigerians, the extension was considered.

National Commissioner and Member, Voter Education and Publicity Committee, Mohammed Kudu Haruna said as at August 11, the Commission had registered an additional 12, 139,061 new voters and the exercise will continue in all the designated registration centres until August 31.

Registration will take place every day between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm except on public holidays.