INEC Publishes Names Of Imo Governorship Candidates, Exempts APC

Channels Television  
Updated November 9, 2018

Presidency Sends 27 REC Nominees For Senate Confirmation


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has failed to publish the name of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate in Imo State.

When Channels Television visited the INEC office in the state on Friday, it was observed that theĀ names of 67 other candidates from various political parties were published except that of the APC.

Some of those who made the list are the former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Emeka Ihedioha (PDP), Senator Ifeanyi Ararume (APGA), Honorable Tony Nwulu (UPP), Linus Okorie (YPP) among others.

Read Also: Imo Primaries: Court Restrains INEC, APC From Substituting Names Of Winners

The development comes one day after a Federal High CourtĀ sitting in Owerri, the state capital issued an interim injunction restraining the APC and INEC from substituting or publishing any names other than those of winners of the October 6 primaries.

Twenty APC members who were declared winners of the primaries held at all levels had approached the court to seek the ex parte order.

They accused the National Working Committee of the party of planning to substitute their names with other names of aspirants who lost in the primaries.