Buhari Puts Tinubu ‘Fully In Charge’ Of Re-Election Campaign

Channels Television  
Updated January 7, 2019
Buhari Gives Tinubu Full Powers To Oversee Re-Election Campaign
(File) President Muhammadu Buhari and Bola Tinubu


President Muhammadu Buhari has given full powers to a chieftain of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu, to oversee the campaign for his re-election.

The President announced this on Monday at the inauguration of the APC Presidential Campaign Council held at the International Conference Centre in Abuja, the nation’s capital.

READ ALSO: Buhari Vows To Maintain ‘Non-Interference’ Policy In General Elections

He said, “Even though we have only 40 days, this campaign is going to tax us all, because we intend to touch all corners of our great and vast country.”

“But I must also add that, though we will all be deeply involved, I would like to assure the nation that I will do my part without making governance or my work suffer.

“Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, my co-chairman, will be fully in charge, and is going to be on 24-hour vigil, the President added.

Ahead of the general elections, President Buhari was confident that the campaign would take the party members to all corners of the country.

He, however, assured Nigerians that his administration remains committed to good governance as the campaigns would not affect their work.


The inauguration of the campaign council comes two days after its spokesman, Festus Keyamo, announced the names of the members in a statement.

In the statement issued on Saturday, Tinubu is a co-chairman while Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, are vice chairmen of the council.

A breakdown of other council members is given below;


Senator George Akume


Senator Ken Nnamani


His Excellency, Rt. Hon. Rotimi Amaechi


Senator A.O. Mamora


Arch. Waziri Bulama


Adamu Adamu

Dele Alake


North West: Senator Aliyu M. Wamakko

North East: Senator Muh’d Ali Ndume

North Central: Senator Abdullahi Adamu

South West: Sola Oke, SAN

South East: Sharon Ikeazor

South South: Senator Godswill Akpabio


Director, Buhari Support Groups – Dr. Mahmoud Mohammed

Director, Strategic Communications – Festus Keyamo, SAN

Deputy Director- Abike Dabiri- Erewa

Director, Contact & Mobilization – Hadiza Bala Usman

Deputy Director South -Victor Eboigre

Deputy Director North- Senator Bashir Nalado

Director, Election Planning & Monitoring – Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN

Deputy Director I- Baba Kura Abba Jato

Deputy Director II-Chief Emani Ayiri

Director, Logistics – Dr. Pius Odubu

Deputy Director- Senator Umanah Umanah

Deputy Director II- Nasiru Danu

Director, Policy Research & Strategy- Prof Abdulrahman Oba

Deputy Director- Prof. A.K. Usman

Director, Youth Mobilisation- Hon. Tony Nwoye assisted by the APC Youth Leader Sadiq

Deputy Director North- Barrister Ismaeel Ahmed

Deputy Director South – Jasper Azuatalam

Director, Admin- Onari Brown

Deputy Director I- Chris Hassan

Deputy Director II- Abubakar Magaji Gasau

Director, Women Mobilisation- Woman Leader Salamatu Baiwa

Deputy Director North – Binta Mu’azu

Deputy Director South – Adejoke Orelope Adefulire

Director Security – Gen. A. Dambazzau

Deputy Directors – Brigadier General Gambo and Mr. U. Ukoma

Director Legal – Emeka Ngige, SAN

Deputy Director- Prof. Maman Lawan Yusufari

Director Field Operations- Mallam Nuhu Ribadu

Director Finance- Wale Edun

Deputy Director ….Alhaji Adamu Fadan


Chief Bisi Akande

Chief John Oyegun

Senator Ita Enang

All APC serving Senators

All APC serving and former Governors

All APC Members of the House of Representatives

All members of the National Working Committee of the APC

All Zonal Women Leaders

Gubernatorial Candidates, including all gubernatorial candidates (who would serve as coordinators in non-APC states).