INEC To Conduct Supplementary Election In Lagos

Channels Television  
Updated March 21, 2019

INEC To Conduct Supplementary Election In Lagos


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) says it has concluded arrangements to conduct a supplementary election in Lagos State.

INEC’s Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Mr Sam Olumekun, announced this in a statement on Thursday.

According to him, the exercise will take place in nine polling units of Ibeju-Lekki State constituency I.

Olumekun explained that the election became inconclusive as a result of over-voting in the nine polling units covering two registration areas of the constituency.

READ ALSOAgain, INEC Insists No Certificate Of Return For Okorocha

He said INEC had met with all the relevant stakeholders in the area, including the political parties and affected candidates, as well as the Inter-agency Consultative Committee on Election Security (ICCES) for the local government and other interested groups.

“Only voters with valid permanent voter’s cards within the constituency will be allowed into the polling units to vote,” the REC stated.

He disclosed that sensitive materials would be moved from the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) to the local government area on Thursday, in the presence of the representatives of various political parties and security personnel.

Olumekun added that the training of ad-hoc staff for the supplementary election was ongoing at the Registration Area Centre (RAC).

Six of the affected polling units are in Ibeju Registration Area while the remaining three are in Iwerekun I Registration Area.

See the full breakdown below:

Ibeju Registration Area (Ward) code 01- 6 polling units.

I) Premises of RCM school Okegun–polling unit 001

II.) Open Space in front of Baale’s house at Okegun Odofin II-polling 003

III.) Premises of Customary Court, Ibeju II-polling unit 004

IV.) Premises of Customary Court, Ibeju II-polling unit 005

V.) At the junction of Ajewale Street, Ibeju III- polling unit 006

VI) Premises of CPS Iba-Oloja-polling unit 009.

IWEREKUN I Registration Area (Ward) I (3 polling units)

I.) Open space in front of Baale’s house at Muserikogo-polling unit 002

II.) Premises of CHS, Lakowe-polling unit 004

III.) Open space in front of Baale’s House, Adeba-polling unit 005.