No Surprises As Germany Announce Women’s World Cup Squad

Channels Television  
Updated May 14, 2019
Martina Voss-Tecklenburg, head coach of the German women’s national football team, addresses a press conference on May 14, 2019 in Frankfurt am Main, western Germany, to name her squad for the women’s World Cup to take place from June 7 to July 7, 2019, in France. PHOTO: Arne Dedert / dpa / AFP


Germany coach Martina Voss-Tecklenburg announced her 23-woman squad for the women’s World Cup in France on Tuesday, led by captain and striker Alexandra Popp it contained no major surprises. 

“We had intense discussions and there were some tough decisions in the end, because we have a high-quality team,” said Voss-Tecklenburg, 51, who took the reins in January.

“I am convinced that with this team, we are well set for the World Cup.”

Voss-Tecklenburg’s team touch down in Rennes on June 3, three days ahead of their opening group game against China, as they look to secure a third World Cup title in July.

They play a final pre-tournament friendly against Chile in Regensburg on May 30.

“Chile are the perfect test to get an idea of where we are,” said Voss-Tecklenburg.

Germany squad for Women’s World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Laura Benkarth (Bayern Munich), Merle Frohms (Freiburg), Almuth Schult (Wolfsburg)

Defenders: Sara Doorsoun (Wolfsburg), Johanna Elsig (Turbine Potsdam), Lena Goessling (Wolfsburg), Giulia Gwinn (Freiburg), Marina Hegering (SGS Essen), Kathrin Hendrich (Bayern Munich), Leonie Maier (Bayern Munich), Carolin Simon (Lyon)

Midfielders/Forwards: Klara Buehl (Freiburg), Sara Daebritz (Bayern Munich), Linda Dallmann (SGS Essen), Svenja Huth (Turbine Potsdam), Turid Knaak (SGS Essen), Melanie Leupolz (Bayern Munich), Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon), Lena Oberdorf (SGS Essen), Alexandra Popp (c) (Wolfsburg), Lea Schueller (SGS Essen), Verena Schweers (Bayern Munich), Lina Magull (Bayern Munich)

Reserves: Lisa Schmitz (Turbine Potsdam), Pauline Bremer (Manchester City), Kristin Demann (Bayern Munich), Lena Lattwein (Hoffenheim), Felicitas Rauch (Turbine Potsdam).