George Weah, Drogba, Others To Attend Ambode’s Testimonial Match

Channels Television  
Updated May 16, 2019
George Weah,                                                                 Akinwunmi Ambode



African football legends such as Liberian President, George Weah, Didier Drogba, Yaya Toure will on Saturday, May 18, 2019, be in Lagos State to attend a testimonial match in honour of Governor Akinwunmi Ambode.

In a statement on Thursday, the Chairman of the State Sports Commission, Kweku Tandoh, said that the event tagged ‘Match for Ambode’, is being organised to honour the outgoing governor for his laudable contribution to sports development since he assumed office in 2015.

He said the organisers, a group of ex-internationals led by Waidi Akanni have promised to put up a memorable event to ensure that the guests have a taste of good hospitality of the government and people of the state.

Tandoh added that the testimonial match would be spiced up with music from A-list artistes including Wizkid, Small Doctor amongst many others.

READ ALSO: Christian Chukwu Arrives In UK For Treatment

He also assured that adequate security before, during and after the event which starts by 10 am on Saturday have been firmed up.

Among the stars that have confirmed their participation for the one day event include The President of Liberian and former World Footballer award winner, George Weah, Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o, Ivorian Didier Drogba, Yaya Toure also from Cote d’Ivoire, Diomansy Kamara, Peterside Idah, Geremi Njitap, Michael Essien, Lomana Lua-Lua, Samuel Eto, Didier Zokora, Kader Keita, Richard Kingston, Christian Karembu, El- Hadji Diouf.

Others include Peter Rufai, Finidi George, Mutiu Adepoju, Samson Siasia, Augustine Eguavoen, Joseph Yobo, Ike Shorunmu, Kanu Nwankwo, Austin Jay- Jay Okocha, Daniel Amokachi, Emmanuel Amunike, Phillip Shuaibu (Deputy Governor, Edo State), Taribo West, Victor Ezeji, Tijani Babangida, Emma Okocha, Ifeanyi Udeze, Uche Okechukwu and Garba Lawal.

The event is slated to hold on Saturday, May 18, at the Agege Stadium.