Tribunal Affirms Election Of Senator Abbo, Three Others

Channels Television  
Updated August 30, 2019
FILE PHOTO: Senator Abbo


The Adamawa State Election Petition Tribunal on Thursday dismissed petition challenging the election of Ishaku Abbo representing Adamawa North, thereby affirming his election.

The tribunal also affirmed the election of Senator Binos Yaroe of Adamawa South; Abdulrazak Namdas representing Ganye, Jada, Toungo Mayo Belwa Federal Constituency and Kwamoti Laori representing Demsa, Numan, Lamurde Federal Constituency.

The three man panel chaired by Justice Suleiman Akanbi dismissed the petitions over failure to provide concrete evidence to back allegations and claims that the election was marred with corrupt practices, rigging, irregularities, and over-voting.

READ ALSO: Yahaya Bello Wins Kogi APC Governorship Primary

Justice Akanbi said the petitioner challenging Abbo’s victory, Senator Binta Masi, failed to produce sufficient evidence to prove the case beyond a reasonable doubt, prompting him to dismiss the case for lack of merit.

The petition filed by Senator Ahmad Mo-Allahyidi challenging the victory of  Yaroe was also dismissed for lack of merit.

Some of the counsels applauded the outcome of the judgement while others say they will appeal their cases.

Both Senator Abbo and Senator Yaroe told Channels Television in separate interviews that their victory at the tribunal shows the credibility of Nigeria’s judicial system.

Similarly, the tribunal dismissed the petition filed by Muktar Kabiru of PDP challenging the victory of  Abdulrazak Namdas of the APC.

The court also affirmed the election of Honourable Kwamoti Laori of the PDP dismissing Ovaldi Madayi’s petition of the APC for lack of merit.

These cases mark the end of the National and State Assembly election petitions in Adamawa State command except for those heading for the appeal courts.