Categories: Local

List Of Winners At The Nigerian Legal Awards 2019


The 2019 edition of the Nigerian Legal Awards has held in Lagos, with a host of legal luminaries across the country being recognised. 

The Awards, which is convened by ESQ Legal Blitz, a platform projecting the achievements of legal players within Nigeria’s business law community, took place on Friday, November 1, 2019.

At the Awards ceremony, which held at the Landmark Event Centre in Lagos, Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo was “recognized for his invaluable contribution to improving the nation’s economy and the development of business law in Nigeria.”

Similarly, Senior Vice-President and General Counsel of World Bank Group, Dr Sandie Okoro was recognized for her “tremendous contribution to the development of diversity and inclusion in the global legal community.”

READ ALSO: Award Set To Honour Legal Heavyweights

Other legal heavyweights who were recognised include:

President of the National Council of the Nigerian Stock Exchange and Managing Partner of Chris Ogunbanjo LLP, Abimbola Ogunbanjo, Independent Non-Executive Director of FBN Holdings and Fmr. Vice President Secretary General of the African Development Bank, Cecilia Akintomide, Founding Partner of one of Nigeria’s most reputable firms, Adepetun Caxton-Martins Agbor & Segun (ACAS-LAW) and Chairman, Board of Directors, Standard Chartered Bank, Sola Adepetun, Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Edo State and Fmr. National Secretary to the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Prof. Yinka Omorogbe, Managing Partner of Doyin Rhodes-Vivour, Adedoyin Rhodes-Vivour, and former Chairman of the Nigerian Bar Association Section on Business Law, Olumide Akpata.

Previous editions of the Nigerian Legal Awards have recognized awardees like the late Justice Kayode Eso, first female President of the Nigerian Bar Association, Priscilla Kuye, the late Justice Chukwudifu Oputa, first female Senior Advocate of Nigerian, Folake Solanke, former Attorney General of Lagos State and first female General Counsel of the Nigerian Bar Association, Airat Balogun.

Some of this year’s award categories included: Law Firm of the Year, Managing Partner of the Year, Banking and Finance, Oil and Gas, Dispute Resolution, Private Equity, Real Estate and Construction, Capital Market, Intellectual Property, Shipping and Transport, Media and Entertainment, among others.

Also of note was the honouring of ’40 under 40 Rising Stars’, which celebrates young lawyers who have been making giant strides within the Nigerian legal space.

Below is a list of some of the awards handed out on the night and their recipients:

Legal Amazon of the Year: Adedoyin Rhodes (SAN)

Immigration Team of the Year: Olajide & Oyewole

Intellectual Property Team of the Year: Jackson Etti & Edu

Insolvency Team of the Year: G Elias &Co

Telecommunications and Technology Team of the Year: G Elias & Co

Energy and Power In-house Team of the Year: Ikeja Electric

Capital Market In-house Team of the Year: Nigerian Stock Exchange

Banking and Finance In-house Team of the Year: Zenith Bank Plc

Corporate Governance Team of the Year: DCSL

Corporate Restructuring Team of the Year: DCSL Corporate Services

Company Secretary of the Year: Bode Ayeku (Nestle)

Real Estate and Construction Team of the Year: ChurchGate

Oil and Gas Team of the Year: Bloomfield

Merger and Acquisition Team of the Year: Templars

Media and Entertainment Team of the Year: Olajide & Oyewole

Private Equity Team of the Year and Corporate Commercial Team of the Year: The New Practice

Energy Power and Mining Team of the Year: Templars

Banking and Finance Team of the Year: Alliance Law Firm

Shipping and Transport Base Practice of the Year: G Elias and Co

General Counsel of the Year: Mrs Ngozi Giwa Amu

The Law Firm of the Year (Small practice): Stark Legal

Managing Partner of the Year (Mid size): Adeniyi Duale

African Law Icon of the Year: Mr Abimbola Ogunbanjo (President of the NSE)

Law Media Personality of the Year: Shola Soyele (Channels TV)

Managing Partner of the Year (Large Practice): Mr Ken Etim

Law Firm of the Year (Large Practice): Aluko & Oyebode

Soonest Nathaniel

Disqus Comments Loading...
Published by
Soonest Nathaniel
Tags: Nigerian Legal Awards

Recent Posts

  • Info Tech

Twitter CEO Jack Dorsey Visits Nigeria

  Twitter CEO and Co-founder, Jack Dorsey, is currently in Nigeria. Mr. Dorsey arrived on Thursday evening as part of…

2 hours ago
  • Local

One Reported Killed As Flood Hits 37 Communities In Benue

  One person has been reported drowned as flood submerges schools, power installations, and rice farms in 37 communities of…

2 hours ago
  • World News

Congolese Warlord ‘Terminator’ Gets Harshest ICC Sentence Ever

  The International Criminal Court sentenced Congolese rebel Bosco "Terminator" Ntaganda to 30 years in jail for war crimes and…

3 hours ago
  • Entertainment

Rapper Drake Launches Cannabis Brand

  Rapper Drake has partnered with Canopy Growth on a new cannabis venture, the company announced Thursday, expanding the Canadian…

3 hours ago
  • In Pictures

PHOTOS: Court Returns SDP’s Natasha Akpoti To Kogi Governorship Race

A Federal High Court sitting in Abuja on Thursday held that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) was wrong to…

3 hours ago
  • World News

UN Report Finds Jordan, Turkey, UAE Violated Libya Arms Embargo

  Jordan, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates have regularly violated the UN arms embargo imposed on Libya since 2011,…

3 hours ago