Categories: Headlines

Edo Governorship: APC Names Primary Election, Appeal Committees

A file photo of APC spokesman, Lanre Issa-Onilu.


The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on Wednesday affirmed Senator Abiola Ajimobi as the Party’s Acting National Chairman.

This comes on the heels of an Appeal Court’s ruling affirming the suspension of Comrade Adams Oshiomhole as National Chairman and in line with Section 14.2 (iii) of the Party’s Constitution.

Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu the National Publicity Secretary of the APC who disclosed this development also stated that due to Sen. Ajimobi’s unavoidable absence, the NWC unanimously appointed the Party’s National Vice Chairman (South-South), Prince Hilliard Etta to act on Sen. Ajimobi’s behalf.

READ ALSO: COVID-19: Buhari Participates In Extraordinary China-Africa Summit

According to the APC spokesman, this action was backed by the Party’s constitution which empowers the NWC to appoint one of its members in an acting capacity and stipulates that the acting National chairman must be from the zone of the National Chairman.

Also, committees for the Party’s Edo State Governorship Primary Election scheduled for Monday 22nd June 2020, and Election Appeal scheduled for Wednesday 24th June 2020 were also named by the party.

Those chosen include:

Primary Election Committee
1. Governor of Imo State, Sen. Hope Uzodinma – Chairman
2. Sen. Ajibola Bashiru – Secretary
3. Alh. Abdullahi Abass
4. Hon. Ibrahim Sabo
5. Hon. Ocho Obioma
6. Hajia Amina Lantana Muhammed
7. Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye

Primary Election Appeal
1. Prof. Mustapha Bello – Chairman
2. Dr. Kayode Ajulo – Secretary
3. Hon. Umar Ahmed
4. Nasiru Ibrahim Junju
5. Hon. Rasaq Mahmud Bamu

The party also noted the recent ruling of a High Court which declared Hon. Igo Aguma as the Party’s acting chairman in Rivers State. In compliance with the court ruling, our party has recognised Aguma as Rivers State acting Chairman pending when new congresses will be held to elect party executive members at the ward, local government, and state levels.

Sixteen members of the NWC attended the meeting held at the Party’s National Secretariat (13 members attended physically and three others joined the meeting online).

Soonest Nathaniel

Disqus Comments Loading...
Published by
Soonest Nathaniel
Tags: APC Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu

Recent Posts

  • World News

Trump Retracts Apparent Admission Of Defeat

  President Donald Trump appeared accidentally to admit his election defeat in a tweet on Sunday morning -- before reversing…

1 hour ago
  • Coronavirus

British PM Self-Isolating After Contact Tested Covid-Positive

  British Prime Minister Boris Johnson is self-isolating after someone he was in contact with tested positive for the Covid-19…

2 hours ago
  • Headlines

I Think There Is Nothing Wrong With Social Media Bill – Ndume

  Chairman of the Senate Committee on Army, Ali Ndume, says he sees nothing wrong with the proposed Social Media…

3 hours ago
  • Politics

Kleptocrats In Government Are Betraying Buhari’s Policies, Says Ndume

  The lawmaker representing Borno South Senatorial District in the National Assembly, Senator Ali Ndume believes that President Muhammadu Buhari…

4 hours ago
  • Local

House Committed To Increasing Health Allocation, Says Gbajabiamila

  The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila has said that the House is committed to increasing…

5 hours ago
  • World News

Peru President Merino Resigns Following Street Protests

  Peru's President Manuel Merino resigned Sunday, just five days after taking office, sparking celebrations in the capital Lima following…

6 hours ago