Aviation Minister, Hadi Sirika Lists 14 Airports Approved For Resumption

Channels Television  
Updated July 26, 2020


The Federal Government of Nigeria has approved 14 airports to restart flight operations after months of closure occasioned by the coronavirus pandemic.

These airports were expected to resume operations on Friday, the 24th of July, 2020.

Disclosing this on Sunday, the Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika, said the Federal Government’s directive authorizes the resumption of domestic operations only, while the resumption of international flights remains on hold.

In a series of tweets on Sunday, the minister noted that ministerial approvals would not be needed in and out of the airports.

He added that the order includes private and charter operations.

According to Sirika, the airports cleared to resume operations include the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos; Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport, Abuja; Malam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano; Port Harcourt International Airport, Omaguwa; Sam Mbakwe Aiport, Owerri.

He added that others include; Maiduguri Airport, Maiduguri; Victor Attah Airport, Uyo; Kaduna Airport, Kaduna; Yola Airport, Yola; Margaret Ekpo Airport, Calabar; Sultan Abubakar Aiport, Sokoto; Birnin Kebbi Airport, Kebbi; Yakubu Gowon Aiport, Jos; and Benin Aiport, Benin.