Imo Assembly Speaker Impeached

Channels Television  
Updated November 13, 2020
A file photo of the Imo State House of Assembly complex in Owerri, the state capital.


The Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Mr Chiji Collins, has been impeached.

Collins was removed from office by the lawmakers on Friday during a plenary at the legislative chamber of the Assembly complex in Owerri, the state capital.

When the motion of the former speaker’s impeachment was move, it was supported by 19 out of the 27 members of the House.

Collins was impeached over allegations of financial impropriety, high handedness, and gross misconduct, among others.

Following his impeachment, the lawmakers elected Mr Paul Emeziem from Onuimo Local Government Area as the new Speaker of the House.

Elsewhere, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released an adjusted final list of candidates for the Imo North Senatorial District bye-election.

The information was contained in a document signed by the Secretary to the Commission, Mrs Rose Oriaran-Anthony.

According to the commission, the adjustment was in compliance with an order of the Federal High Court.

It became necessary on the premise of the court’s determination of the case between Uchenna Onyeiwu against the All Progressives Congress (APC) and four others.

As contained in the document by Oriaran-Anthony, 14 political parties will field candidates for the Imo North bye-election.

They include Accord party (A) – Ndubueze Patrick; Action Alliance (AA) – Emmanuel Ogueri; African Action Congress (AAC) – Nathaniel Uba; African Democratic Congress (ADC) – Chigozie Onyinye; APC – Ifeanyi Araraume; All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) – Charles Onyeirimba; and Allied Peoples Movement (APM) – Raphael Mbachu.

Others are Action Peoples Party (APP) – Ernest Ezirim; Labour Party (LP) – Okorondu Sunday; New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) – Okeafor Chukwujieze; National Rescue Movement (NRM) – Charles Amajouyi; Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) – Emmanuel Okewulonu; Social Democratic Party (SDP) – Rita Okorafor; and Young Progressive Party (YPP) – Promise Nwadigos.