Imo Bye-Elections: Ararume, Ibezim Vote Despite Court Ruling

Channels Television  
Updated December 5, 2020
Photo combination of Senator Ifeanyi Ararume and Frank Ibezim


Candidates laying claim to the All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket in the Imo State north senatorial elections have cast their votes.

This comes despite the uncertainties over who would be the authentic flagbearer for the party, following court decisions disqualifying both candidates in different judgements in Imo and Abuja.

The judgements were pronounced on Friday.

The first was an appeal court sitting in Owerri, the state capital which disqualified senator Ifeanyi Ararume as the candidate for the All Progressives Congress.

Delivering the judgment, the five-man panel noted that the November 6 judgment of the Federal High Court in Owerri which earlier declared Ararume as the authentic candidate had no jurisdiction under the law to entertain the matter.

Read Also: Imo North Election: Appeal Court Disqualifies Ararume, Orders Replacement With Ibezim

A Federal High Court in Abuja in a judgment on Friday also disqualified Mr. Frank Ibezim as the candidate of the APC in the Imo north senatorial by-election.

Justice Inyang Ekwo, disqualified Ibezim from contesting in the election on the grounds that he made false statements in the affidavit and documents he submitted to the APC and INEC.

Both, however, still went ahead to vote in the bye-election.