CJN Swears In Chief Judge Of FCT, Five Judges Of Sharia Court

Channels Television  
Updated August 16, 2021
File photo of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Muhammad


The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad has sworn in Justice Yusuf Baba as the Chief Judge of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The CJN also on Monday swore in five judges of the Sharia Court of Appeals.

He urged the newly sworn-in judges to be firm and just in the discharge of their duties as in line with their oath of office.

He admonished them to conduct their affairs within the ambit of the law and the oath of office that was administered on them.

The swearing-in of the judges come few weeks after the CJN approved the appointment of Hajo Sarki-Bello as the new Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court.

The appointment follows the retirement of the substantive Chief Registrar, Hadizatu Uwani-Mustapha who will be attaining the mandatory retirement age of 60 years.

Uwani-Mustapha had served from July 2017 to August 2021.