Moscow Bans 287 British Lawmakers From Russia Over Ukraine

The Russian foreign ministry said Wednesday that it has banned entry to 287 British MPs after the UK blacklisted Russian lawmakers over Moscow's military operation in Ukraine. 

A video grab from footage broadcast by the UK Parliament’s Parliamentary Recording Unit (PRU) shows tellers (R-L) Labour MP Nick Smith, Labour MP Nic Dakin, Conservative MP Stuart Andrew and Conservative MP Iain Stewart preparing to deliver the result of a vote on the programme motion setting out the proposed timetable for the Brexit withdrawal Agreement Bill in the House of Commons in London on October 22, 2019. British MPs on Tuesday rejected Prime Minister Boris Johnson’s plans to approve his Brexit deal by October 31, minutes after giving preliminary approval to the agreement. MPs voted by a majority of 14 to reject his timetable, making it almost inevitable that Brexit will be delayed beyond next week’s deadline. HO / AFP / PRU
In this file photo, Russian President Vladimir Putin chairs a meeting on the situation in the oil and gas sector at the Novo-Ogaryovo state residence outside Moscow, on April 14, 2022.  Mikhail Klimentyev / Sputnik / AFP


The Russian foreign ministry said Wednesday that it has banned entry to 287 British MPs after the UK blacklisted Russian lawmakers over Moscow’s military operation in Ukraine. 

“In response to the decision taken by the British government on March 11 to add 386 State Duma deputies to a sanctions list, in a reciprocal move, personal restrictions are being placed on 287 members of the House of Commons,” the ministry said in a statement.

It said that the MPs are barred from entering the country from now on. The House of Commons has a total of 650 members.

READ ALSORussia Cuts Gas Supplies To Poland, Bulgaria Over Ukraine

Moscow said the list is made up of MPs who have played “the most active part” in drawing up anti-Russian sanctions and contributed to “Russophobic hysteria”.

Among those blacklisted are Speaker Lindsay Hoyle as well as Cabinet members including Minister for Brexit Jacob Rees-Mogg and Environment Secretary George Eustice.

The list also includes Labour MPs, among them Diane Abbott, a close ally of former party leader Jeremy Corbyn.

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson said in parliament that those included in the list “should regard it as a badge of honour”.

“What we will do is keep up our robust and principled support for the Ukrainian people, and their right to protect their lives, their families, and to defend themselves.

“That is what this country is doing, and that has the overwhelming support, I think, of the whole House.”

Russia has already blacklisted Johnson as well as UK Deputy Prime Minister Dominic Raab, Foreign Secretary Liz Truss, Defence Secretary Ben Wallace and several others.

Russia’s foreign ministry on Wednesday also announced the expulsion of three Norwegian diplomats in a tit-for-tat measure after Oslo expelled three Russian diplomats earlier this month.