28 States Where Gov Elections Will Hold On March 18, 2023


With Presidential and National Assembly elections concluded and results declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission, albeit with the attendant legal tussles following, the battlegrounds have shifted to states.

Nigerians will head to the polls again on Saturday, March 18, 2023 to elect governors and state assembly members.

In all, 18 political parties fielded candidates for the governorship elections slated to hold in 28 out of the 36 states of the Federation.

This is so because the governorship elections of eight states (Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kogi, Osun and Ondo) are held off-season due to litigations and court judgements.

Be it as it may, elections for members of state legislature will hold in the 36 states of the Federation.

Thousands of candidates are competing for 993 State Houses of Assembly seats. This data is according to statistics by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

In alphabetical order, the 28 states where governorship elections will hold on March 18, 2023 are: Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara.

New Tech

For this year’s polls, the electoral umpire deployed the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System and its Result Viewing Portal (IReV). The IReV and the BVAS are new technologies introduced by the electoral body for the accreditation and electronic transmission of votes for this year’s polls.

INEC has again said the technologies will be deployed for the March 18 polls, saying the glitches recorded at the presidential and National Assembly polls weeks ago have been addressed.

However, opposition political parties such as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the Labour Party (LP) are skeptical of the process. The opposition parties have also condemned the Presidential election which produced a former Lagos State governor, Bola Tinubu, who was the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) as the President-Elect. The PDP and the LP argued that INEC failed to electronically transmit results from the over 170,000 polling units to the IReV portal as prescribed by Section 60 of the Electoral Act 2022.ct 2022.

Kayode Oyero

Disqus Comments Loading...
Published by
Kayode Oyero
Tags: 2023 Muhammadu Buhari NASS

Recent Posts

  • Local

Alleged £2.6bn Fraud: Petro Union Cheque Is A Forgery, British Detective Tells Court

The EFCC had on January 27, 2021 rearraigned four directors of the company on a 13-count charge of fraud.

1 min ago
  • Sports

Messi Apologises For Saudi Trip After PSG Suspension

He was suspended by the Qatar-owned club after failing to turn up for training on Monday, a day after their…

46 mins ago
  • Local

Fallen Tree Kills Truck Driver In Cross River

The conductor of the truck says the the driver was awaiting his turn for clearance when the incident occurred.

50 mins ago
  • Headlines

N2.1bn Fraud: Appeal Court Upholds Maina’s Eight-Year Sentence

A three-member panel unanimously affirmed the judgement delivered by Justice Okon Abang of the Abuja Federal High Court.

2 hours ago
  • Local

Police Grant Suspended Adamawa REC Hudu Ari Bail

Ari is expected to report at the Police Headquarters every weekday while investigations are ongoing on the matter.

2 hours ago
  • Local

Fire Guts EFCC Building In Enugu

The fire which started early this morning was put out through the combined efforts of the Enugu State and Federal…

2 hours ago