LP, PDP Kick As APC Wins 26 Of 27 House Of Assembly Seats In Imo


The Labour Party and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Imo State have rejected the results of the house of assembly elections in the state.

After Saturday’s election, the All Progressives Congress (APC) won 26 seats out of the 27 seats in the Imo State House of Assembly.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Imo State, the only result from Ahiazu Mbaise is yet to be declared as the election in the area was declared inconclusive.

Meanwhile, the Labour Party and the peoples Democratic Party in the state have both described the election as a sham.

READ ALSO: Senator Nnamani Quits PDP After Failed Re-Election Bid

They alleged that INEC and security operatives in the state colluded with the ruling APC to manipulate the results of the election in favour of the party.

On the other hand, the APC in the state has congratulated all the members-elect describing the outcome of the election as the true wishes of the Imo people and the result of the commitment and developmental contributions of the ruling party led by Governor Hope Uzodimma to the welfare and well-being of Imo citizens.

The APC described allegations by the Labour Party and the PDP as untrue, saying they are bad losers whose claims of winning the election are a figment of their imagination.

Donatus Anichukwueze

Disqus Comments Loading...

Recent Posts

  • Local
  • Main Stories
  • North West

Gov Election: Kano Govt Lifts Dawn-To-Dusk Curfew

The state government also thanked the people of the state for their cooperation during the curfew period.

3 hours ago
  • Main Stories
  • North West
  • Top story

PDP’s Dauda Lawal Unseats Zamfara Gov Matawalle In Stunning Upset

The PDP candidate was declared the winner in Gusau, the state capital in the early hours of Tuesday.

4 hours ago
  • Main Stories
  • Politics
  • South South

Tonye Cole, Others Reject Rivers Gov Election Result, Demand Cancellation

Fubara, the "anointed" candidate of Governor Nyesom Wike, polled 302,614 votes to defeat Tonye Cole who scored 95,274.

5 hours ago
  • Headlines
  • Main Stories

Gov Elections: NNPP Finally Breaks Through Amid 15 APC Wins, Eight For PDP

Kano State played host to a historic win, thanks to the NNPP claiming its first governorship seat through standard-bearer Abba…

6 hours ago
  • Headlines
  • Main Stories
  • North East

PDP’s Kefas Agbu Emerges Taraba Gov-Elect

The state Returning Officer Prof M.A. Abdulazeez declared Agbu the winner at 12:30 am on Tuesday.

8 hours ago
  • Headlines

Wike’s Anointed Candidate Siminialayi Fubara Declared Rivers Governor-Elect

He was declared the winner of Saturday's poll late Monday.

10 hours ago