Kogi Assembly Suspends Nine Members, Others For Terrorism, Anti-Party Activities

The suspension also affected seven council chairmen and three vice chairmen on account of anti-party activities.


Kogi State House of Assembly, on Thursday, suspended nine of its members for alleged gross misconduct bordering on terrorism.

The suspension also affected seven council chairmen and three vice chairmen on account of anti-party activities.

This is sequel to correspondence from the State Governor, Yahaya Bello to the speaker while that of the council chairmen and vice chairmen was based on correspondence from the state chairman of All Progressives Congress, Abdullahi Bello.

Speaker of the House, Prince Mathew Kolawole, while reading the two letters at plenary on Thursday, said the official letter from the governor alleged that the lawmakers were involved in terrorist’s activities based on a security report.

He, however, said that the correspondence from the state APC Chairman alleged that the chairmen and some vice chairmen carried out anti-party activities in the just concluded general elections.

Contributing to a debate on the allegation levelled against them, the Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon Alfa Rabiu Momoh, Ankpa 2 state constituency, supported the suspension of lawmakers, saying the state is bigger than any personal interest and that the lawmakers should not be found contravening the law.

Also, Hon. Collins Musa of the Omala state constituency aligned himself with the Deputy Speaker arguing that the issue borders on terrorism which he said was too grievous to sweep under the carpet.

The House, therefore, placed the nine lawmakers on suspension until the investigation is concluded.

The suspended lawmakers include Daniya Rayin of Bassa constituency; Muktar Bajeh the majority leader of the House from the Okehi constituency; Kilani Olumo, Ijumu constituency; Moses Akande, Ogori-Magongo constituency; Lawi Ahmed, Okene 1 constituency; Suleiman Attajachi Musa, Idah constituency; Aderonke Aro, Yagba West constituency and Bello Hassan Abdullahi, Ajaokuta constituency.

Also, the suspended chairmen with their vice chairmen include Ogori-mango, Kabba-Bunu, and Bassa, while those with suspended chairmen are Yagba West, Adavi, Ajaokuta, and Ibaji.

In another development, the House also placed the Council boss of Lokoja Local Government, Hon. Dansabe Muhammed, on suspension based on an allegation of misappropriation of funds which amounts to over  N150 million.

The Councillors and the Vice Chairman had written a letter accusing the council boss of reckless financial spending and misappropriation of funds without recourse to legal order.

A seven-man ad-hoc committee headed by the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Rabiu and Bayero Jiya as Secretary was set up by the House to investigate those on suspension.