Categories: Local

Reps Committee Engages With Banks, Agencies For Assets Recovery


The House of Representatives ad hoc Committee for Identification and Recovery of Public Funds, Seized Forfeited and Abandoned in Financial Institutions and Government Agencies is engaging with commercial banks and some federal agencies.

At the resumed hearing of the committee in Abuja, the Chairman of the Strategy Sub-committee, Mr Sunday Umeha, explained that the panel discovered that some federal government funds were still trapped in commercial banks.

READ ALSO: Ex-Military Spokesman Onyeuko Dies After Illness

Umeha was also shocked that some government agencies were still paying money into commercial banks, despite the order for all government revenues to be deposited in the Central Bank of Nigeria.

The committee has been engaging with various anti-graft agencies and stakeholders including the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Cffences (ICPC) and the Nigerian Financial Intelligence Unit (NFIU) to recover the identify the funds.

Channels Television

Disqus Comments Loading...
Published by
Channels Television

Recent Posts

Northern Group Kicks Against Call To Sack NNPCL Boss, Kyari

A spokesman for the group, Abdulhameed Enaji, spoke at a news conference in Abuja.

26 mins ago

‘Tribunal Affirmed Nigerians’ Will’, Wike Congratulates Tinubu, Shettima

The former governor of Rivers State hailed the five-man panel of the Tribunal led by…

44 mins ago

Oil Theft Probe: Reps Invite NNPCL As Security Firm Alleges Sabotage

The House Adhoc Committee which commenced investigation into crude oil theft in the country was…

56 mins ago

Obi Rejects Presidential Tribunal Judgment, Heads To Supreme Court

The Labour Party flag bearer in the February 25, 2023 poll said the matter has…

1 hour ago

Court Upholds Ned Nwoko’s Victory, Orders Rerun In Warri South LGA

The three-man Tribunal led by Justice Catherine Ogunsola dismissed the petition filed by Ken Kanmma…

2 hours ago

Lagos Assembly Rejects Two Sanwo-Olu’s Commissioner-Nominees, Confirms 15

The lawmakers rejected the nomination of Olalere Odusote and Samuel Egube.

2 hours ago