‘I’m Coming Home Triumphantly’, Gov Bello Hails Ododo’s Victory In Kogi Poll

Attributing the win to the goodwill of the Kogi people, the governor extended an olive branch to other contestants.

Kogi governor-elect Usman Ododo and incumbent governor Yahaya Bello during a press conference in Abuja on Monday, November 13, 2023.


Following the victory of Usman Ododo of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in last Saturday’s governorship election, Governor Yahaya Bello has expressed elation over the outcome.

The state Returning Officer, Prof Johnson Urama, who is also the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academics) of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, announced Ododo as the winner at 10:23 pm on Sunday.

“I am coming back home, gallantly and triumphantly,” Bello said while speaking to the press on Monday.

Attributing the win to the goodwill of the Kogi people, the governor extended an olive branch to other contestants, expressing a willingness to collaborate for the state’s development.

“I extend a hand of fellowship on behalf of governor-elect, and deputy governor-elect, our party and this current administration. The governor is willing to embrace and work together as long as they are coming in to serve and contribute to the growth and development of the state.

“All of my children who have sacrificed along with me throughout this period, I am coming back home. I thank all of my children. I thank and appreciate my brothers and sisters.”

READ ALSO: Tinubu Congratulates Diri, Uzodimma, Ododo On Governorship Victories

Bello appreciated the people of Kogi for “giving the APC this opportunity to serve” you in this capacity at this auspicious time”.

According to him, the journey has just begun, saying, “I am not going to rest; I will always be abiding to serve the state and the country in any capacity that will be deemed fit now and in the future”.

He also commended the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for “painstakingly” overseeing the electoral process.

Ododo scored 446,237 votes, defeating his closest rival, Murtala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), who got 259,052, while Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 46,362 votes.