Osimhen, Oshoala Nominated For 2023 Globe Soccer Best Men, Women Player Awards

Last year, Osimhen got the Emerging Player of the Year gong in the Globe Soccer Awards.

A photo combination of Oshoala and Osimhen.


Nigerian duo Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala have been nominated for the 2023 Globe Soccer best men and women player awards respectively. 

The nominees for the awards were unveiled on Tuesday by the organisers with the Napoli star battling 29 others for the prize.

Other nominees for the men’s award are Nicolò Barella, Jude Bellingham, Karim Benzema, Yassine Bounou, Antoine Griezmann, Ilkay Gundogan, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, and Robert Lewandowski.

Lautaro Martínez, Kylian Mbappé, Lionel Messi, Kim Min-Jae, Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo, Harry Kane, and Vinícius Jr are also in contention for the men’s best player prize for the award.

Last year, the Nigerian forward, who led Napoli to a first league title in over 30 years, got the Emerging Player of the Year gong in the Globe Soccer Awards.

READ ALSO: Hope For Nigeria As Rwanda Shock South Africa In World Cup Qualifiers

Osimhen’s Year

The Napoli forward scored 10 goals in the AFCON qualification series.


Osimhen was ranked eighth in the 2023 Ballon d’Or awards, the highest-ever finish by a Nigerian player.

He is also in pole position to win this year’s African Player of the Year prize when the ceremony is held next year.

FILE PHOTO: Asisat Oshoala celebrates after scoring Nigeria’s third goal against Australia. Credit: FIFA


For the women’s category, Oshoala who won a treble with Barcelona last season including the Champions League, will battle teammate Aitana Bonmati among others.

Other nominees are Sam Kerr, Alexandra Pop, Olga Carmona, Esther Gonzalez, Patri Guijarro, Mapi Leon and Salma Paralluelo

In the coaching category, Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola headlines the list of nominees and is favourite to scoop the award after a treble-winning season with the English Premier League outfit last term.

But he has to contend with Arsenal’s Mikel Arteta, Lionel Scaloni, Carlo Ancelotti, Xavi Hernandez, Simone Inzaghi, Luis de la Fuente, Jonatan Giraldez, Marcel Koller and Sarina Wiegmann.

Already, online voting has started for the different categories and will run until December 7th. After this, a 30-member jury from the football industry will then pick the awardees.

The Globe Soccer Awards winners will be unveiled in a ceremony on January 19, 2024.