Jimi Agbaje Wins Lagos PDP Governorship Primaries

Jimi AgbajeMr Jimi Agbaje has won the governorship ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Lagos State, defeating a former Minister of State for Defence, Musiliu Obanikoro.

The result was announced at about 11:20pm local time on Monday.

While counting was going on, there was an uproar, as some persons tried to grab the ballot box, Channels Television’s political correspondent, Seun Okinbaloye reported.

It is one of the last results that were released in the governorship primary elections held across Nigeria.

Mr Agbaje’s victory came after there were reported discrepancies between the number of delegates and the number of ballots counted.

While 806 delegates were recorded, 863 ballots were counted at the end of the election, a development that caused a disagreement.

Mr Jimi Agbaje is a pharmacist by training from the University of Ife, now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.

He served in many health management capacities in his early years as a pharmacist in Lagos State, and is the Managing Director of Jaykay Pharmaceutical & Chemical Company Ltd.

Lagos APC Holds Governorship Primary Election

APCThe All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos State, south-west Nigeria, is holding a crucial primary election to choose the party’s candidate for the next governorship election.

The party’s delegates gathered on Thursday at the Onikan Stadium to vote for their preferred candidate in the primary election, with candidates contesting.

Twelve aspirants were cleared to contest for the party’s ticket to participate in the exercise.

Contesting for the party’s governorship ticket are; the Senate Minority Whip, Ganiyu Solomon, the Speaker of the House Of Assembly, Adeyemi Ikuforiji, former Accountant-General of the State, Akinwunmi Ambode, former Attorney-General, Olasupo Shasore and former Commissioner for Health, Leke Pitan.

Others include commissioner for works and infrastructure Obafemi Hamzat, Tayo Ayinde, former Commissioner for Special Duties, Tola Kasali, Adetokunbo Wahab and three other aspirants.

The APC will hold its national convention in Lagos on December 10 and 11 and over 7,000 delegates are expected to attend.

The delegates are to converge on the Teslim Balogun stadium to elect the party’s presidential flag bearer who will face President Goodluck Jonathan in the 2015 election.