Osun House Of Assembly Passes LCDA Creation Bill Into Law

OsunThe Osun State House of Assembly has finally passed into law, the bill creating additional 31 Local Council Development Authorities (LCDA), three Area Councils and two Administrative Units.

At a plenary session presided over by the Speaker, Right Honourable Najeem Salaam, in Osogbo, the Osun State capital, the parliament said that the creation of more LCDAs, Area Councils and Administrative Units was imperative in order to bring government closer to the people at the grassroots.

Speaker Salaam emphasised that the primary purpose of the creation of the councils and administrative units was for administrative conveniences and not to hyper-bloat the existing civil and political regimes, which had become hindrance to the limited resources of the state.

He then urged Governor Rauf Aregbesola to prioritise the assent of the law, in order to set up committees that would work out the asset and liabilities for the take-off of the new councils and units.

The Osun State Independent Electoral ‎Commission (OSIEC) had earlier conducted a referendum in the state, to feel the pulse of the people on the creation of additional LCDAs.

The Chairman, House Committee on Local Government, Wasiu Adebayo, explained that after the approval by the Governor, Osun State would now have 30 Local Governments, 31 Local Council Development Areas, four Area Councils and two Administrative Units.