AFN Picks 37 Athletes to Represent Nigeria At Commonwealth Games


The Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) has released its team of 37 athletes set to represent the country at the Commonwealth Games.

The Commonwealth Games will hold From April the 4th to 15th in Gold Coast, Australia.

Topping the list of athletes selected is Glasgow 2014 defending champion in the women’s 100m/200m, Oluwatobiloba Amusan who will competes in the hurdles. Also on the list is Doreen Amata who will compete in High Jump.

Winners in several events at the recently-held Commonwealth Games trials in Abuja.


See Full List Below…

Blessing Okagbare (100/200m)

Oluwatobiloba Amusan (100m Hurdles)

Enoch Adegoke (100m)

Emmanuel Arowolo (200m)

Emmanuel Bamidele (400m)

Oyeniyi Abejoye (110m Hurdles)

Patience Okon-George (400m),

Queen Obisesan (Hammer throw)

Fadekemi Olude (20km Walk race)

Blessing Ibrahim (Triple Jump)

Samuel Adams (Javelin)

Precious Okoronkwo (Long Jump)

Isoken Igbinosun (100m/200m)

Eke Kalu Onwuka (Shot put)

Grace Ayemoba (100m Hurdles)

Glory Nathaniel (400m Hurdles)

Henry Okorie (400m Hurdles).

Doreen Amata (high jump)

Kelechi nwanaga (javelin)

Ogho-Oghene Egwero (100m)

Yinka Ajayi (400m)

Praise Idamadudu (200m)

Orukpe Erayokan (400m)

Samson Nathaniel (400m)

Regina George (400m)

Chidi Okezie (400m)

Jennifer Madu (100m)

Stephen Mozia (Shot put)

Chukwuebuka Enekwechi (Shot put)

Rita Ossai

Rosemary Chukwuma

Joy Udo-Gabriel

Idjesa Uruemu

Isah Salihu

Kemi Francis

Usheoritse Itsekiri

Okagbare, Okoro Exempted From All Nigeria Athletics Championship

okagbareThe Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) has granted the request of Blessing Okagbare and Chinwe Okoro to be exempted from the ongoing All Nigeria Athletics Championships at the Warri City Stadium.

The two-day championship serves as trial for the Beijing 2015 IAAF Athletics Championship and Brazzaville 2015 All Africa Games.

Okagbare’s medical and sports science team had pleaded with the federation to exempt the athlete from the national trials, to enable her treat a knee injury and abdominal problem.

Okoro had also written to be excluded for the period of the trials because it coincided with her Master’s Degree examination.

Kenyan Wins First Okpekpe Race, Oshiomhole Comes 131st

The first ever International Amateur Athletics Federation (IAAF) certified road race in Nigeria held on Saturday, at Okpekpe, Edo State attracting 700 top athletes from Kenya, Uganda, Ethiopia and Nigeria.

Governor Adams Oshiomhole (R), Minister of Sports Bolaji Abdulahi (C) and Nollywood actor Paul Obazele, leading the Okpekpe VIP Race.

The race which covered 10 kilometres  over hills and sandy paths was won by Moses Masai of Kenya, Timothy Troitich of Uganda came second and Yusuf Bitwott came third.

Governor of Edo state, Adams Oshiomhole, who also participated in the race came 131st with a time of 59 :3 seconds.
The race also featured the Minister of Sports, Mr Bolaji Abdullahi and other VIPs including top Nollywood actors.

The Governor, against the advise by organisers to compete in the VIP race which covered only 2.5km, ran the whole length of the 10,000 metres.

The Minister for Sports and Chairman National Sports Commission, Bolaji Abdullahi who thanked the Edo State Government for the commitment and vision for the event promised to ensure that that race is made an annual event.

 Moses Masai of Kenya with a time of 29:39 seconds won the race while Timothy Troitich of Uganda came second with a time of 29:44 seconds and Yusuf Bitwott came third with a time of 29:50 seconds.
Rono Georgina; a Kenyan emerged first in the female category while Janet Dunbabadu from Nigeria came 6th.

The race was organised by the Athletics Federation of Nigeria.