APC, Others Boycott Rescheduled House Of Assembly Election In Bayelsa

Nigerian voters - Bayelsa State electionsThe All Progressives Congress (APC) and 11 other political parties in Bayelsa State have boycotted the rescheduled election into the eight House of Assembly constituencies.

The parties had earlier made known their decision not to take part in the rescheduled election.

The election was rescheduled as a result of insufficient ballot papers on April 11.

A member of the APC, Mr Tokpo Coronation, who requested that he should not be mentioned told Channels Television that the APC and other political parties in the state choose to boycott the elections because they believed the Independent National Electoral Commission and members of the security agencies in the state were working in partnership with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state.

They further claimed INEC would favour the PDP to win the election.

However, voters turned out to vote for their preferred candidates even though members of the 12 parties held on to their decision to boycott the elections.

The announcement of the plan to boycott by members of 12 political parties in the state had brought uncertainty on the part of the electorates.

Their fears were, however, allayed when INEC officials showed up at the various polling units by 8:00am local time to conduct the election.

The exercise commenced as the Governor, Seriake Dickson, whose constituency was part of the eight, got accredited alongside his wife at Toru-Irua community.

After the accreditation, people stayed backed to participate in the actual voting process.

After performing his civic duty, Governor Dickson, addressed reporters, adjudging the election as peaceful and violence free while commending INEC for the orderly conduct of its affairs.