Football: African Awards Contenders




Confederation of African Football (CAF) awards contenders ahead of ceremony in Rabat on Thursday :

Men Player of the Year

Kalidou Koulibaly, Sadio Mane, Edouard Mendy (all SEN), Vincent Aboubakar, Karl Toko Ekambi (both CMR), Achraf Hakimi (MAR), Sebastien Haller (CIV), Naby Keita (GUI), Riyad Mahrez (ALG), Mohamed Salah (EGY)

Club Player of the Year

Aliou Dieng, Ali Maaloul, Mohamed el Shenawy, Mohamed Sherif, Percy Tau (all Al Ahly/EGY), Achraf Dari, Yahya Jabrane, Zouheir el Moutaraji (all Wydad Casablanca/MAR), Tiago Azulao (Petro Luanda/ANG), Karim Konate (ASEC Mimosas/CIV)

Young Player of the Year

Konate (CIV), Hannibal Mejbri (TUN), Dango Ouattara (BUR), Pape Matar Sarr (SEN), Kamaldeen Sulemana (GHA)

Coach of the Year

Aliou Cisse (SEN), Pitso Mosimane (Ahly), Walid Regragui (Wydad), Tom Saintfiet (GAM), Carlos Queiroz (EGY)

National team of the Year

Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Egypt, Morocco, Senegal

Club of the Year

Renaissance Berkane, Wydad (both MAR), Ahly, Orlando Pirates (RSA), Petro Luanda

Women Player of the Year

Andile Dlamini, Refiloe Jane, Thembi Kgatlana, Bambanani Mbane (all RSA), Evelyn Badu, Doris Boaduwaa (both GHA), Grace Chanda (ZAM), Ghizlane Chebbak (MAR), Ajara Njoya (CMR), Asisat Oshoala (NGR)

Club Player of the Year

Dlamini, Mbane, Andisiwe Mgcoyi (all Mamelodi Sundowns/RSA), Chebbak, Sanaa Mssoudy, Fatima Tagnaout (all AS FAR/MAR), Badu, Boaduwaa (both Sekondi Hasaacas/GHA), Rose Bella (Malabo Kings/GEQ), Gift Monday (Rivers Angels/NGR)

Young Player of the Year

Badu, Boaduwaa (both GHA), Monday, Flourish Sebastine (both NGR), Yasmine Zouhir (MAR)

Coach of the Year

Yusif Basigi (Hasaacas), Serigne Cisse (SEN), Desiree Ellis (RSA), Samir Landolsi (TUN), Bruce Mwape (ZAM), Gaoletlhoo Nkutlwisang (BOT), Reynald Pedros (MAR), Jerry Tshabalala (Sundowns), Randy Waldrum (NGR), Gabriel Zabo (CMR)

Club of the Year

FAR, Kings, Sundowns, Angels, Hasaacas

National team of the Year

Winner to be announced after Cup of Nations final between Morocco and South Africa in Rabat this Saturday

Musa, Iwobi, Ighalo Nominated For CAF Award

Musa, Iwobi, Ighalo Nominated For CAF Award
Ahmed Musa celebrates after scoring Nigeria’s opener during the game. His strike also represents Nigeria’s first goal at Russia 2018. Mark RALSTON / AFP


Three Super Eagles players – Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi and Odion Ighalo have been nominated for the 2018 African Footballer of the Year award.

The trio were among the preliminary 34-man list released by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) after an impressive performance for both their clubs and country.

Ahead of the award, the list will eventually be cut to just three before a Technical and Development Committee by the continental body.

Also, media experts, legends, coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League, and as well as coaches and captains of the national teams will decide the winner.

The awards gala will hold on January 8, 2019, in Dakar, Senegal.

Liverpool’s Salah, Mane, Keita Among CAF Award Nominees

File Photo


Liverpool trio Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Naby Keita are among 34 nominees named Friday for the 2018 African Player of the Year award.

Egyptian Salah won the award last year after scoring 44 goals in all competitions during his first season at Anfield.

Senegalese Mane has been in outstanding form for Liverpool this season while Guinean Keita adapts to English football after a mid-year move from German Bundesliga outfit RB Leipzig.

A couple of previous African Player of the Year winners, Algerian Riyad Mahrez of Manchester City and Gabonese Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Arsenal, are other contenders.

Nigerian Alex Iwobi, Senegalese Idrissa Gueye and Ivorian Wilfried Zaha complete the list of nominees who play in the Premier League.

History-making French coaches Nicolas Dupuis and Corentin Martins are among 10 nominations for the best coach award.

Dupuis has qualified Madagascar for the Africa Cup of Nations for the first time and Martins achieved a similar feat with Mauritania.

Madagascar and Mauritania are contenders for the national team award with Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Award winners will be announced on January 8 at a ceremony in Dakar.