APGA Elects Victor Ike Oye As New Chairman

apgaDr. Victor Ike Oye has emerged the new National Chairman of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), with the former Minister of Information, Labaran Maku, clinching the National Secretary position.

Before the event started, there were rumours of a court order stopping the convention but after a directive from the outgoing National Chairman, the party’s legal adviser cleared the air.

The convention, which took place at the Women Development Center, Awka, had a total of 740 delegates from the six geopolitical zones of the country and happened eight years after the last convention was held, laying to rest projections of disintegration of the party.

The new National Chairman promised to take the party to new heights through building a new and cohesive political movement founded on mutual love, peace and fraternity, devoid of bitterness and acrimony.

The outgoing National Chairman, Victor Umeh, made a well-tailored speech on the achievements of the party and urged the new executive to continue in a higher dimension.

Moving further, the convention moved for the dissolution of the existing body of the National Working Committee, after which the Speaker of Anambra State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Chinwe Nwaebili, moved a motion for the approval of the election of the members of the National Working Committee of the party.

The nominees were called upon and with an unanimous voice vote, they were elected and sworn in.

El-Rufai Bans Fertilizer Allocation To Traditional Rulers, Others

El-RufaiKaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai, has banned the allocation of fertilizers to traditional rulers, politicians and other elites in the state.

The Governor also directed that fertilizer stocks should be sold directly to local farmers from designated sales points.

In a statement issued by the Governor’s Spokesman, Samuel Aruwan, on Saturday, Governor El-Rufai gave the directive shortly after he paid an unscheduled visit to the fertilizer warehouse of Kaduna State Ministry of Agriculture at Dankande village along Kaduna-Zaria Express Way.

El-Rufai made it clear that his administration will not condone injustice and acts of discrimination that would be a disadvantage to ordinary citizens.

During a meeting with the leadership of the Northern Christian Elders Forum on Friday, Governor El-Rufai had said that the Kaduna State Government has concluded plans to merge some of the state ministries, and also cut down the number of Commissioners into the State Executive Council in order to cut down the cost of governance.

President Buhari Leaves for G7 Summit

Muhammed-BuhariPresident Muhammadu Buhari will be leaving Nigeria on Sunday morning, to attend the G7 Summit that is scheduled to take place in Bavaria, Germany, from June 7 to 8, 2015.

In a statement released in Abuja on Saturday, June 6, the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, said that the invitation was extended to President Buhari by German Chancellor, Angela Merkel, even before he was sworn in on May 29 as the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

”The invitation is a clear indication of the international community’s willingness to cooperate with the new government of Nigeria,” he said.

He added that President Buhari would not be participating in the main meetings, since Nigeria is not a member of the G7 group.

”He is in a group of seven other Heads of State who were called in as guests. He will equally be holding key side meetings with some of the seven Heads of State who will be convened at the summit.

”The international community is obviously acknowledging Nigeria’s significant role in global affairs,” Mallam Garba said, ”especially with the recent change in government”.

The attendees at the  41st G7 summit will include the leaders of the seven G7 member states, as well as representatives of the European Union.

The G7 member states are Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, United Kingdom and United States.

The President of the European Commission is a permanently welcome participant in all meetings and decision-making since 1981.