INEC Rejects Governorship Nominations Of Parties In Seven States

INECThe Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has rejected the submission of governorship candidates by seven parties in different states of the federation.

The parties and the states affected are: Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) in Delta State; Labour Party in Niger State; New Nigeria Peoples Party in Ogun State; Unity Party of Nigeria in Oyo State; United Democratic Party in Rivers State; and Peoples Democratic Movement in Sokoto and Zamfara States respectively.

The commission, on Monday, released the verdict, stating Section 187 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) as its reason.

The portion of the Electoral Act provides that a candidate to the office of a governor shall not be deemed to be validly nominated for such office unless he appoints another candidate as his running mate.

It might be the end of the road for these governorship candidates as INEC has insisted that they cannot run in the February election.