Ogun Govt. Commits To Education Development

Ogun Govt. Commits To Education DevelopmentThe Ogun State Government has expressed its resolve to continue to invest reasonably in education, in order to reposition the sector and improve human capital development index of the state.

The state’s Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Mrs Modupe Mujota, stated this at the 11th Matriculation Ceremony of the Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa in Ado-Ota/Ota Local Government Area of the state.

The Commissioner also affirmed that providing quality education for people of the state remains top in government’s agenda.

She congratulated the new students on their admission, tasking them to take optimal advantage of the opportunity at their disposal to pursue their dreams.

Mrs Mujota informed them that their grades at the end of their studies would be determined by their performances from the beginning of the session.

“The grades you will make will be determined by your performance from this very beginning and your ultimate grace is a potential key to unlock opportunities in the labour market”, she advised.

Also addressing the new students, Rector of the Institute, Mrs Funke Akinkurolere, advised them to adhere strictly to the rules and regulations of the institution, as it would not condone indiscipline or any act that could undermine the integrity of the school.

The establishment of Science and Technical Colleges across the three senatorial districts of Ogun State is to produce middle level man-power and make the students become self-reliant upon graduation.

Ogun Government Constitutes TASUED Governing Board

TASUEDThe Ogun State Government, on Wednesday, announced the constitution of the Governing Council for the State-owned Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun, Ijebu-Ode.

The Council has as its Chairman, a former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Professor Olufemi Bamiro, while other members include the current Vice-Chancellor of the institution, Professor (Mrs.) Oluyemisi Obilade, Mr Afolabi Sorinmade, Professor Ayo Alabi, Professor Seun Omotayo and Dr. (Mrs.) Mulikat Salaam, a statement by the Secretary to the State Government, Mr Taiwo Adeoluwa, read.

Others are Honourable Kunle Elegbede, Comrade Tunde Oladunjoye, High Chief George Ibirinde and Mr Derin Adebiyi.

The Statement added that the Council would also be joined by representatives of the State Ministries of Education and Finance, two members each from the institution’s Senate and Congregation.

A graduate of the institution elected by the Alumni Association and that of the National Universities Commission (NUC) are also to serve on the Council.

In a related development, the State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun, has approved the appointments of new Rectors for the State Institutes of Technology.

The Rectors are Professor (Mrs.) Jumoke Bilesanmi-Awoderu, Dr. (Mrs.) Olufunke Olanike Akinkurolere, Dr. Adeola Odedina and Dr. Kolawole Oyeyinka for the Institutes in Ijebu-Igbo, Igbesa, Itori and Sapade respectively.