17 Lawyers Become SAN, Keyamo Falls Short

gavelll_0The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee, LPPC, has conferred with the rank Of Senior Advocate of Nigeria, 17 out of the 109 lawyers screened.

Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Mr Sunday Olorundahunsi, who announced the approved list, said the award was a mark of excellence of the legal profession by the nominees.

He, however, added that while no female met the criteria set by the committee for the award, popular Human Rights lawyer, Mr Festus Keyamo, also fell short of the requirements for the award.

Those approved are:

(1). Dr.Olu Onagoruwa

(2). Prof Joash.O.Amupitan

(3). Olusola Olaseni Idowu

(4). Dr.Ernest .M.Ojukwu

(5). Ahamefula.I.E.Ejelam

(6). Chike G.Onyemenam

(7). Tawo E.Tawo

(8). O.O.Adejuyigbe

(9) S.A.Ogwemoh

(10) Dr.A.A.Olawoyin

(11). Dr.J.O.Olatnke

(12). T.O.Busari

(13). Kevin.C.Nwufo

(14). Dr.Amuda-Kannike Abiodun

(15). Oluwakemi.A.Balogun

(16). Hakeem.O.Afolabi

(17). Gerald G.E.Ezeuko.


More details soon.

19 Lawyers Appointed As Senior Advocates Of Nigeria For 2013

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee (LPPC) has confirmed the appointment of the private prosecutor of Economic and Financial Crimes Commission’s (EFCC), Mr. Godwin Odumu Obla and 18 other legal practitioners as Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SANs) for the year 2013.

LPPC made the confirmation on Friday during its meeting in Abuja.

Announcing the list of the 19 successful candidates for the 2013 members of the inner bar to the media, the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court/LPPC secretary, Sunday Olorundahunsi said the committee has found only one member of the academia, Prof. Lawrence Asekome Atsegbua of the University of Benin worthy to wear the silk cloth for this year.

Other legal practitioners appointed include Adele Eberechi, Olumide Olusoga Sofowora, Uko Essien Udom, Anthony Ikechukwu Ani, Suraj Sa’eda and Anthony Chukwuemeka Anaenugwu.

Others are Joe Ad’ojo Abrahams, Akinlolu Timothy Kehinde, Biriyai Dambo, Chukwuma-Machukwu Ume, Olalekan Fatai Yusuf, Moyosore Jubril Onigbanjo, Aliyu miatasamu Abdullahi, and the wife of Chief Solomon Adegboyega Awomolo (SAN), Mrs. Victoria Olufunmilayo Awomolo.

Another SAN Stripped Of Rank

The Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee (LPPC) on Tuesday stripped Ajibola A. Aribisala of the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN).

Ajibola A. Aribisala stripped of the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN)

This is the second time a member of the Inner Bar would lose the prestigious title that makes the holder the first among equals during court proceedings.

The first SAN to lose his title was a former Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Michael Kaase Aondoakaa, who was stripped of the title on October 7, 2010 by the same LPPC.

Mr. Aondoakaa was stripped of the title after his response to a petition written against him by a non-governmental organisation, the Committee for the Defence of Human Rights (CDHR).

A statement from the Media Aide of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Ahuraka Isah, said the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court of Nigeria and Secretary, Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee, Sunday Olorundahunsi communicated the decision at the end of the Committee’s meeting on Tuesday in Abuja.

The LPPC’s decision was taken following a petition by Fidelity Bank against Mr. Aribisala and after hearing his response to the petition, the Committee decided that he should be suspended from using the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria.

By this decision, Mr Aribisala loses all privileges attached to the rank pending the outcome of the Court case impeding investigation by the Sub-Committee set up by the Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee.