UNILAG and 11 universities to get TETFUND’s N25 billion fund

Twelve tertiary institutions across the six geo-political zones of the country have been allocated N25 billion for academic upgrade under the Special High Impact Programme of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND).

The Minister of Education, Professor Ruqayyatu Rufai, at the 2012 Strategic Planning Workshop organised by TETFUND on Tuesday, announced the 12 benefiting institutions which included the University of Lagos, for the fourth phase of the Special Intervention Fund.

The fund is meant for the execution of high impact projects covering learning, postgraduate training, research and publications.

According to Prof. Rufai, “six federal and state universities will each get N2 billion while three polytechnics and three colleges of education will get N1 billion each.”

These funds are in addition to N589 million given to all Nigerian universities, polytechnics and colleges of education as normal intervention fund for the year 2012 is meant to impact the academic growth of universities and other tertiary institutions.

She further revealed that besides the Special High Impact Fund, the 12 tertiary institutions are given normal interventions funds for the year.

These funds, she also disclosed, will be closely monitored to ensure they are put to good use by each university authorities.

The TETFUND is dedicated towards the improvement and maintenance of standards in higher educational institutions in the country. The minister also said “the allocations to institutions have increased with each passing year”.

The Minister of Education noted that with these intervention funds, inadequate funding can no longer be blamed for substandard education in Nigeria.


National University Commission lost 5 officials in the Dana Air crash

Five top officials of the National Universities Commission (NUC) were among victims of the ill-fated Dana Airline Flight 0992 which crashed into residential buildings in Iju-Ishaga area of Lagos state on Sunday.

Executive Secretary of the commission, Professor Julius Okogie made this known, while receiving the Minister of Education, Professor Ruqayyatu Rufai at the commission’s office in Abuja on Monday. Prof Rufai was on a condolence visit to the commission.

The late officials include, the former Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology (FUTO) Owerri, Professor Celestine Onwuliri and four deputy directors who left Abuja for an official assignment in Lagos.

Prof Okogie prayed for the families of those who lost their lives in the crash saying the education sector would be in mourning for a long period.

Signing the condolence registers amidst tears, the Minister of Education, Prof Rufai, said the nation did not deserve to be thrown into this magnitude of disaster.

She pledged to provide full support to the families of the victims.