Seven Parties To Participate In Yobe LG Election – IPAC

IPAC, Yobe LG ElectionThe Inter Party Advisory Council (IPAC) in Yobe State says seven political parties will participate in the Local Government (LG) election slated for February 11, 2017.

The State Chairman of IPAC, Mr Umar Kukuri, made the disclosure during an interview with reporters in Damaturu, Yobe State’s capital, in northeast Nigeria.

Mr Kukuri said: “The seven political parties have already conducted their various primary elections in which their respective candidates have emerged, submitted to the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC) and screened by the electoral commission”.

The seven parties are PDC, SDP, CPP, ACD, APC, NCP and MPPP.

The IPAC Chairman hinted that campaigns had commenced across the state with political parties canvasing for support ahead of the poll.

He asked SIEC to ensure a free and fair election that would be accepted by all the political parties and observers nationally.

Kukuri also appealed to the political parties to conduct themselves according to the rules of the game and avoid issues that could breach peace in the state before, during and after the election.

He praised security operatives in the state for ensuring peace in the previous elections and urged them to maintain the same tempo during the imminent poll.

Hitch Free Election

The chairman further commended the Yobe State government for conducting the election despite the security threat poised by the Boko Haram insurgents.

“The council wishes to appreciate the Yobe State government for promoting democracy throughout the conduct of the local government election.


“It is noteworthy that the Yobe State government had consistently conducted LG elections in spite of security challenges faced by the state. While states without such challenges failed to conduct LG elections, the council elections are being conducted in Yobe.

“As democrats and proud citizens of the state, it is to the credit of the state government that the council elections of 2015 encouraged the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to conduct the 2015 general elections in the northeast region that was bedevilled by serious security challenges,” he said.

Mr Kukuri assured the people of the state that IPAC would work with all the participating political parties to ensure a hitch-free election.

The last time Yobe State held an LG election was in 2014 at the heat of the Boko Haram insurgency.

PDP Wins Ife Central State Constituency Election

Ife PDPINEC has declared the PDP candidate, Dipo Eluwole, as the winner of the bye-election into Ife Central State Constituency in the Osun State House of Assembly.

The Returning Officer, Dr. Francis Oladimeji, made the declaration while announcing the results of the election in Ile-Ife, Osun State in Nigeria’s southwest region.

Dr. Oladimeji said that Eluwole of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 5,504 votes to defeat Segun Fanibe of the Accord Party who scored 4,790 votes and Adetilewa Sijuwade of the APC who got 4,587 votes.

Six political parties; Accord, APC, CPP, MPPP, NNPP and PDP participated in the election which took place in 168 polling units of all 11 wards in the Ife Central Local Government Area of the state.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had earlier declared the election inconclusive on Saturday following the cancellation of election in two units as a result of election violence.

Ife Central State Constituency seat in the State House of Assembly had been vacant since December 27, 2015 following the death of Mr Oladejo Makinde of the PDP.

With this victory, the PDP now has two members in the Osun State House of Assembly while the All Progressives Congress (APC) has 24.

Amosun, APC Ask Tribunal To Strike Out MPPP Petition

AmosunOgun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun, and his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC) have filed a motion of notice before the Ogun State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal, challenging a petition brought before it by Mega Progressive Peoples Party (MPPP).

The three-member tribunal, headed by Justice Henry Olusiyi, began its sitting at the premises of the Ogun State High Court, Isabo, Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital on Tuesday.

The MPPP, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and its candidate in the last election, Gboyega N. Isiaka, had filled separate petitions challenging the outcome of the last governorship election which returned Governor Amosun elected.

While the MPPP in its petition asked the court to cancel the whole election, alleging that its candidate’s name and party were omitted from the ballot paper, the PDP and Isiaka said Governor Amosun did not win lawful votes to have returned him elected.

The PDP and Isiaka’s petition could not begin, after the counsel to the 3rd to 128th respondents, Olushina Sofola, told the tribunal that his clients had not filled their responses because they were still within 21 days recognised by law, within which to file their responses.

Mr Sofola said his clients were served on the May 5 and had until the close of work on Monday, to file their responses.

Application seeking the extension of time for the respondents to file their responses was, however, struck out by the tribunal.

Although, the tribunal has not fixed a date for the hearing of the petitions, the lead counsels to Amosun and APC, Fagbemi Lateef and George Oyeniyi, told the tribunal that a motion on notice, requesting the tribunal to strike out the petition of MPPP had been filled.

According to the motion signed by one Azeez Soboyejo, dated May 13, a copy of which was obtained by Channels Television’s correspondent, the petitioner sought for an order dismissing and/or striking out the petition for being statute barred, having been filed outside the mandatory statutory period of 21 days after the declaration of the election result.

This, according to the motion, was contrary to section 134(1) Electoral Act No 64, 2010 (as amended) and section 285(5) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended).

Citing grounds for the application, both APC and Governor Amosun said the tribunal lacked jurisdiction to entertain and determine the petition, as the court had failed to disclose any reasonable cause for action.

The application also stated that the petition was filed in gross violation of the provisions of section 134(1) of the, Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).

It however, asked the tribunal to dismiss the petition “for reasons that same is frivolous, speculative, gold-digging, and unmeritorious, with substantial cost”.