German Legend Gerd Mueller Is Dead

In this file photograph taken on January 21, 2009, former German footballer Gerd Mueller looks on after kicking the ball before the start of a friendly between FC Bayern Munich-II and a Siliguri Mayor’s 11 at Kanchenjungha Stadium in Siliguri. Diptendu DUTTA / AFP


Legendary German striker Gerd Mueller died in the early hours of Sunday at the age of 75, his former club Bayern Munich has confirmed.

“Today, the world of FC Bayern stands still,” the club wrote on it’s website.

During a glittering career, Mueller scored a record 365 goals for Bayern in the Bundesliga during the 1960s and 70s, as well as scoring 68 times for West Germany in 62 internationals.

“Today is a sad, black day for FC Bayern and its fans,” said Bayern president Herbert Hainer.

“Gerd Mueller was the greatest striker there has ever been — and a fine person, a personality in world football.

“Without Gerd Mueller, FC Bayern would not be the club we all love today.

“His name and the memory of him will live on forever.”

For the last few years, Mueller had been suffering from dementia.

He leaves behind his wife Uschi and a daughter.

READ ALSO: Germany Earmarks 30bn Euros To Rebuild After Floods

Largely thanks to his goals, Mueller made history for both Bayern Munich and West Germany.

He scored an unbelievable 566 goals in 607 competitive games for FC Bayern.

“Without Gerd’s goals, we’d still be in our old wooden hut on Saebener Strasse (the club training ground),” Franz Beckenbauer once said of his former Bayern and West Germany team-mate.

Mueller was part of Bayern teams that won four Bundesliga titles and dominated the former European Cup — now the Champions League — lifting the trophy three consecutive seasons from 1974-76.

Mueller’s Bundesliga record of 40 goals scored in a single season stood from 1971/72 until current Bayern striker Robert Lewandowski scored for the 41st time in 2020/21 last May.

Bayern CEO Oliver Kahn described Mueller as “one of the greatest legends in the history of FC Bayern”.

“His achievements are unmatched to this day and will forever be part of the great history of FC Bayern and all of German football,” Kahn added.

With the West German national team, Mueller won the 1972 European championships and the World Cup on home soil in 1974, scoring the winning goal in the final in Munich against the Netherlands.

After his career, he stayed with the club for a long time as a coach for the youth teams.


Ex-German Goalkeeper Kahn Replaces Rummenigge As Bayern Munich Chairman


Bayern Munich said on Tuesday Karl-Heinz Rummenigge will step down after 30 years in the club’s hierarchy at the end of this month with former Germany captain Oliver Kahn taking over as chairman.

Rummenigge had been due to see out his contract which expires at the end of 2021, but is leaving six months early to meet the end of the financial year on June 30.

“It is strategically the most sensible and logical point in time,” said Rummenigge, 65, with Kahn, 51, to be Bayern’s chairman when the new season starts in August.

“It is a farewell with satisfaction and pride. That was important to me,” he added.

Rummenigge’s departure will herald a new era at Bayern for the start of next season with Julian Nagelsmann, 33, also replacing Hansi Flick as coach for the campaign.

Rummenigge joined the club’s management in 1991 as vice-president and then became chairman in 2002, overseeing an incredible period of success.

With Rummenigge on board, Bayern won the Bundesliga 19 times and lifted the Champions League trophy in 2001, 2013 and 2020.

A former striker who made 95 appearances for West Germany, Rummenigge played for Bayern from 1974 to 1984.

He was part of the team which won the European Cup twice and was voted the Ballon d’Or winner in both 1980 and 1981.

However, Kahn has a pedigree to match having won the Bundesliga title eight times in 14 years at Bayern before retiring in 2008.

He earned the nickname ‘Vol-Kahn-o’ with his fiery temper and fierce determination to win.

The former goalkeeper played 86 times for Germany, captaining them to defeat against Brazil in the 2002 World Cup final and made 632 appearances for Bayern.

“As chairman, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge has done great work for Bayern for over 20 years,” said Kahn, who has been tipped as their next chairman since joining the club’s board in January 2020.

“During this time, the club has won everything there was to win – you can’t rate his services to Bayern highly enough.

“The time has now come for me to take on responsibility at the top of Bayern Munich.

“In the past 18 months, I have got to know all facets of the club.

“I know what challenges we are facing. I am aware of the task and I am very much looking forward to it.”

World Cup: Messi, Neymar Make 10-Man Best Player Award Shortlist

golden ballArgentine, Lionel Messi and Brazil’s Neymar have been nominated among the 10 players shortlisted for the award for best player at the World Cup.

Finalists, Argentina and Germany produced seven of the candidates announced by FIFA on Friday.

Messi is nominated along with Argentina teammates Angel Di Maria and Javier Mascherano, while Germany provides four candidates: Mats Hummels, Toni Kroos, Philipp Lahm and Thomas Mueller.

Neymar is the only candidate from Brazil. Arjen Robben of the Netherlands and James Rodriquez of Colombia, the tournament’s top scorer with six goals, complete the list.

The players were selected by FIFA’s technical study group of coaching analysts and the winner is selected by the FIFA technical group and announced after the final.

The candidates for best young player are Memphis Depay of the Netherlands, and France pair Paul Pogba and Raphael Varane. Nominees for that award must have been born since Jan. 1, 1993.

Previous Golden Ball winners are:

1982 FIFA World Cup Spain: Paolo Rossi (Italy)

1986 FIFA World Cup Mexico: Diego Maradona (Argentina)

1990 FIFA World Cup Italy: Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)

1994 FIFA World Cup USA: Romario (Brazil)

1998 FIFA World Cup France: Ronaldo (Brazil)

2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan: Oliver Kahn (Germany)

2006 FIFA World Cup Germany: Zinedine Zidane (France)

2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa: Diego Forlan (Uruguay)