Bayern Honour Philipp Lahm With Place In Hall Of Fame

Philipp Lahm has joined Franz Beckenbauer and Gerd Mueller today when he was honoured with a place in the Hall of Fame at Bayern Munich’s Allianz Arena.

The retiring captain of the Bavarian record champions said that his last day with Bayern (the season finale against Freiburg) will stay with him forever.

Lahm played his final match for the Bundesliga champions just over a week ago – nearly 15 years after he made his debut for the club.

The player had been a product of its youth team system and spent some time with the club’s reserve side and on loan at Stuttgart before becoming a regular squad member of the senior team from late 2005.

The Bayern managers praised Lahm for his dedication to the team, Bayern president Uli Hoeness highlighted his ‘down to earth nature” and CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge added that Lahm was one of the most deserving players in the recent history of Bayern.

Rummenigge, Franz Beckenbauer, Sepp Maier, Gerd Muller and Lothar Matthaus are among other Bayern legends to feature in their Hall of Fame.

Lahm, who captained Germany to their World Cup triumph in 2014, became the first Bayern player to join the Hall of Fame since goalkeeper Oliver Kahn in 2008.

World Cup: Messi, Neymar Make 10-Man Best Player Award Shortlist

golden ballArgentine, Lionel Messi and Brazil’s Neymar have been nominated among the 10 players shortlisted for the award for best player at the World Cup.

Finalists, Argentina and Germany produced seven of the candidates announced by FIFA on Friday.

Messi is nominated along with Argentina teammates Angel Di Maria and Javier Mascherano, while Germany provides four candidates: Mats Hummels, Toni Kroos, Philipp Lahm and Thomas Mueller.

Neymar is the only candidate from Brazil. Arjen Robben of the Netherlands and James Rodriquez of Colombia, the tournament’s top scorer with six goals, complete the list.

The players were selected by FIFA’s technical study group of coaching analysts and the winner is selected by the FIFA technical group and announced after the final.

The candidates for best young player are Memphis Depay of the Netherlands, and France pair Paul Pogba and Raphael Varane. Nominees for that award must have been born since Jan. 1, 1993.

Previous Golden Ball winners are:

1982 FIFA World Cup Spain: Paolo Rossi (Italy)

1986 FIFA World Cup Mexico: Diego Maradona (Argentina)

1990 FIFA World Cup Italy: Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)

1994 FIFA World Cup USA: Romario (Brazil)

1998 FIFA World Cup France: Ronaldo (Brazil)

2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan: Oliver Kahn (Germany)

2006 FIFA World Cup Germany: Zinedine Zidane (France)

2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa: Diego Forlan (Uruguay)

Messi tops football rich list ahead of Ronaldo and Beckham

Lionel Messi has been named the highest paid footballer in the world, trailed by England’s American based star, David Beckham and Real Madrid’s Portuguese star in third position.

According to France Football, which is set to release figures for the best paid players in the world on Tuesday, Barcelona forward Messi raked in €33 million last year from wages and sponsorship deals.

LA Galaxy midfielder and former England captain Beckham, for so long the game’s top earner, came in second on €31.5m, while Real Madrid star Ronaldo collected €29.2m in 2011.

Elsewhere, Samuel Eto’o, who made a lucrative move from Inter to Anzhi Makhachkala last summer, is fourth on the list, with Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney fifth.

Wealthy Premier League outfit Manchester City have two players in the top ten, with Argentine forward Sergio Aguero and Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure sixth and seventh, respectively.

The only other club represented twice is Madrid, with Ronaldo’s team-mate Kaka ranking ninth.

Elsewhere, it is worth noting that Chelsea misfit Fernando Torres, who finally got back amongst the goals at the weekend, netted €16.7m during his disastrous first 12 months at Stamford Bridge.

There is not a single player based in Serie A in the top 10 but there is one representative from the Bundesliga, Bayern Munich skipper Philipp Lahm.

Lionel Messi (Barcelona)                                     33m
David Beckham (LA Galaxy)                               31.5m
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)                      29.2m
Samuel Eto’o (Anzhi)                                           23.3m
Wayne Rooney (Man United)                            20.6m
Sergio Aguero (Man City)                                   18.8m
Yaya Toure (Man City)                                        17.6m
Fernando Torres (Chelsea)                                 16.7m
Kaka (Real Madrid)                                              15.5m
Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich)                         14.3m

The amount was rated in the generally accepted currency of the European Union member countries.