Kwara Government To Retrain Master Artisans

The Kwara state government has approved 23 trades under its standard vocational skill acquisition programme designed to promote youth employment and entrepreneurship in the state. 

Speaking during an official flag-off and interactive session with 60 accredited master trainers, the state governor, Abdulfatah Ahmed, informed that the exercise marked another major drive to reform skill acquisition and equip youths with necessary tools for entrepreneurship.

He added that the resolve of the government to identify and engage master trainers was borne out of a desire to benchmark skill acquisition centres against global standards, expose master trainers to the latest technologies in their respective trades, promote uniformity in the standard of practice, and in the process, reduce youth employment.

The governor emphasised that with the streamlining of skill acquisition in the state, artisans would be able to charge uniform fees for their services while consumers will be assured of quality service.

Governor Ahmed assured the participants that once they join cooperative societies they would benefit from his administration’s “revolving micro-credit scheme for micro, small and medium scale enterprises under which over 30,000 small business have benefited”.

The governor charged the skill acquisition committee to design fool-proof arrangements for monitoring of the scheme in order to achieve desired objectives.

Also speaking, the special assistant to the governor on tertiary education, Samuel Ajayi announced that the selection of the master trainers was done through a rigorous process.

We Are Disappointed In Fashola – Nat. Good Governance Tour

The Secretariat of the National Good Governance Tour (NGGT) has said that it views with concern and deep regret the statement credited to Lagos State Governor Babatunde Fashola, who has described the on-going tour as ill-conceived.

In a statement signed by the coordinator, Samuel Ajayi, NGGT said “it must be shocking to all who are familiar with how the tour was conceived, and is being implemented, that it has taken Governor Fashola nearly six months to dissociate the Lagos State Government from the Tour.”

Governor Fashola had claimed that the National Good Governance Tour was designed “in an attempt to appear busy” and that they (Federal Government) “have no project to inspect.

The group also noted that Lagos State was duly represented by the Deputy Governor, Mrs. Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire, on the committee set up by the Nigeria’s Governors’ Forum, to ratify the template for the tour whose final framework was approved by all state Governors without exception.

It however reiterated that the tour is a non-partisan undertaking involving the leaderships of the Nigerian Union Journalists (NUJ) and Radio Television and Theatre Workers Union (RATTAWU); leaders of women and youth organisations; non-governmental organisations; representative(s) of the Nigeria Governors Forum Secretariat; and reporters from the nation’s print and electronic media.

The statement also noted that the federal government is not a rival of states neither is it in competition with states. Its role it insists is to formulate policies in partnership with states and help partner with states to provide infrastructure for the development of the country.

According to the NGGT, “We would like to restate that the Tour is not being forced on any state. But where any state chooses not to participate, it can opt out of the tour without blackmailing the Tour Team and in the event of any state opting out, the Tour Team will proceed regardless to inspect Federal projects, which are spread across the country”.

The tour team has so far visited 15 states in the North-central, South-East and the South-South Geo-political Zones and the FCT since September 2012.